wiring up a 350 tbi - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Hardcore Tech
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2005, 08:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member # 24322
Location: Claypool, Indiana
Posts: 300
wiring up a 350 tbi

If someone could enlighten me on how to search this I will gladly delete this post. I can't find what I'm looking for using 4 letters or more. I'm wanting to figure out how to wire up my 350 tbi and computer from an 89 Blazer into my YJ.

Thanks for any help on search thoughts and I'll delete this before it's moved.
__________________
Trying to decide which project to build and which one to get rid of.
crazy_cooter56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 09:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Member # 22310
Location: New York
Posts: 35
The best advise I can give you is to just keep searching here and JU has some good info too. When all is said and done, you are only splicing 6 or 7 wires. Keep the 7747 computer and all of the wiring harness under the hood and the wires coming from the computer, under the dash over to the main fuse block and ALDL.

below are a couple of threads that helped me doing this swap into a 5.

enjoy

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...re+harness+tbi

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...re+harness+tbi

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...re+harness+tbi

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...re+harness+tbi

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...ight=chevy+tbi

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...hreadid=226016
dirtbikes987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-07-2005, 01:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member # 20423
Location: Finally back in the US-Wdby Is, WA
Posts: 1,065
Here is the list I put together
It wire by wire what you need to make it run.
Plus the link to the diagrams on diy-efi.org

HTH
__________________
Bill USN-1
EFI Moderator at http://www.binderplanet.com

Last edited by Bill usn-1; 01-27-2006 at 01:27 PM.
Bill usn-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Geesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4787
Location: ABQ, NM & Reno, baby
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Geesh
This is Cheesasaurus-Rex, but I'll pass it along.

Here's the Summit web page for the Painless TBI kit. Now if you look, you'll see a hyperlink for the installation instructions in PDF form. What I did is just print that and I am using it with my OE harness first. So, if i don't get it to work, I'll order the real deal $300 is worth my time at first pass

Good luck
__________________
wrapped in pleather
Geesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 03:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
350TBI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member # 46327
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 128
What Geesh said................................The painless kit is great I tried to do it by splicing and soldering. What a waste of time man. I woun dup moounting my ECM under the dash above the Glove box..........
__________________
1970 (what's left of it) CJ5 SBC 350 TBI (Stock); 4L60 Dana 300 4:1.....under construction.

Last edited by 350TBI; 06-07-2005 at 03:22 PM.
350TBI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 03:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Hosejockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26577
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 2,254
Blog Entries: 2
www.affordablefuelinjection.com

or something like that
Hosejockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 03:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Hosejockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26577
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 2,254
Blog Entries: 2
here i found emm
http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=291426
Hosejockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 09:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Hijumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 36803
Location: Oak Ridge, Mo.
Posts: 174
I'm getting my ECM modified and a harness from AFI for a 4.3 TBI conversion soon. Will post on their quality and service when done.
__________________
[FONT=Arial]90YJ 4.3TBI OX's 33's .....it works for me[/FONT]


[QUOTE]looks like she chased a fart through a bag of nails.[/QUOTE]
Hijumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2005, 06:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member # 24322
Location: Claypool, Indiana
Posts: 300
Thank you for the help fellas, I appreciate it.
__________________
Trying to decide which project to build and which one to get rid of.
crazy_cooter56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2005, 07:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Member # 1999
Location: Reno NV USA
Posts: 710
Send a message via ICQ to jeeplvr
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hijumper
I'm getting my ECM modified and a harness from AFI for a 4.3 TBI conversion soon. Will post on their quality and service when done.
I am using the AFI harness and chip on my buggy and it works perfect so far. Quality is top notch and so is the service, at least in my experience.
__________________
{Gramma from Squidbillies} Lets put coughdrops in our buttholes and play viddy games!
jeeplvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2005, 01:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
lqCJ5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member # 31703
Location: SoCal/La Quinta
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hijumper
I'm getting my ECM modified and a harness from AFI for a 4.3 TBI conversion soon. Will post on their quality and service when done.
I'm running AFI on my scrambler , top notch . Harness & instructions made for a very easy install
__________________
81 CJ8 350 sbc,tbi ,TH400 ,4:1 twin stick 300, 60 frt w/Longfields, 14b rear, 40" MTR's
lqCJ5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 02:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Hijumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 36803
Location: Oak Ridge, Mo.
Posts: 174
Thats good to know, thanks for the info. This is my first engine swap - I'm sweating bullets. All of my AA junk arrived today, just waiting on AFI now
__________________
[FONT=Arial]90YJ 4.3TBI OX's 33's .....it works for me[/FONT]


[QUOTE]looks like she chased a fart through a bag of nails.[/QUOTE]
Hijumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 07:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
jays68yak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 19015
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 2,515
Send a message via AIM to jays68yak Send a message via Yahoo to jays68yak
im going to have to read this later when I want to do mine.
__________________
1970 Chevy Truck cab on a 1979 Jimmy frame-8.1 liter 496 bbc/sm465/np203-jeds doubler-np205/d60/14bff Welded/42 tsls on recentered H1s
1998 Chevy Crew Cab K3500 SAS'd with hpd60, links and fox coilovers, 8.1 liter 496 bbc/4l80e/BWtcase. DD/towrig
jays68yak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 10:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Member # 23394
Location: Fresno
Posts: 693
I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but i have not had much luck with affordable fuel injection.

Dont get me wrong, Norm is a nice guy, but it took forever (3 months) to get my harness, i guess they were out of connectors, some of the connectors didnt plug in right, and the both chips he burned for me didnt work at all. Took me quite a while to figure out what was going on. The harness delayed my project for a long while. Ended up costing me a lot of money in the end that i thought was unnecessary. Im not happy with the product and will not refer anyone there.

My advice: Go to your local library and tell them you need a wiring schematic for the '89 blazer. They should be able to help you out.
__________________
'02 CCSB D-Max
'06 Chevy 1500 Crew Cab

Last edited by DanTheMan; 06-13-2005 at 10:06 PM.
DanTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 11:16 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member # 42085
Location: Rogersville, TN
Posts: 106
I swapped a 95 350 TBI into my 93 YJ. I knew nothing about them at the time, but have picked up things as I went along. I just used the factory 350 harness and put the Chevy fuse block under the hood and also kept the Jeep one as well. All I did was run one wire from the ignition (hot on run and start) to the 350 harness to power everything up. I also ran power from the chevy fuse block to a chevy fuel pump that I put in place of the Jeep one in the tank. Adapted the Jeep temp and oil pressure sending units into the motor so those gauges were still functional. That was it.

Last edited by HeyZeus; 06-14-2005 at 11:18 AM.
HeyZeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.