Need help troubleshooting overheating 258 in XJ - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Hardcore Tech
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2005, 02:34 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 27782
Need help troubleshooting overheating 95 4.0L in XJ

The darn XJ started to over heat yesterday afternoon. About 2 months ago, I replaced the water pump and a couple other misc. engine parts. The old pump was leaking around the seal and I just decided to replace it once I had it off. Anyway, its been fine ever since yesterday. I checked my fluid, not lower than normal, so I added some to be sure. No change. Checked oil and its still good (not burned up or low) and the same for the AT fluid. Was about a quart low, no biggie, added to top it off, but still no change (thought maybe the hot fluid in the radiator may keep the water hot????) I'm no mechanic, just a fabricator, so I tried everything. The thermostat was new about a year ago, so I didn't change it with the water pump.

It doesn't drive any different, sound any different than before, but now its just overheating and seems as if its getting worse.

Any ideas??? I'm taking it into the shop Monday, but if its something simple we can figure out, maybe it'll save me a few $$$.

it runs fine at idle, but most anything above that it starts to overheat, usually I notice it about 1500-1700 rpm

HELP

[SIZE="4"][COLOR="Red"]www.rockcityfab.com[/COLOR][/SIZE]

Last edited by KJ4Me; 06-24-2005 at 04:31 PM.
KJ4Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 07:28 PM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 27782
BTW, its a 4.0, not a 258 that is overheating.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-24-2005, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 14526