Pirate 4x4 banner

Shop Class Project

38K views 154 replies 95 participants last post by  shopteach 
#1 ·
What do you think? Our high school shop class is going to build a stock class rockcrawling competition TJ and compete in the NEUROC series this spring. After we compete 2 seasons, we will give the Jeep away to the lucky ticket buyer. We hope to raise $ to but a CNC mill.
PS We are starting with a bare frame and body donated by Davey's Jeeps of Salem OH

#11 ·
I got to make slim jims in shop class. :smokin:

Hey teach, I don't know what resources you have, but I can "point you in the right direction" for cheap/free parts and cheap/free experience in building a Jeep. I'm in Toledo, and a Toolmaker by trade, Jeepbreaker by choice.

Not too many "extreme rockcrawlers" in OH that I know of. But there are ALOT of peeps that know Jeeps and building them up. Some also have alot of stuff "laying around" or would be willing to let go for a good price or possible tax deduction.

Pirate is the place to find all knowledge about rockcrawling vehicles.

Will help any way I can.

e-mail me at toolmantimiii@yahoo.com

#13 ·
We appreciate the offers for help! Thanks for the positive feedback too. Some people think we should build a jeep and give it away (not compete) because no one will want a used comp rig. what do you think? we plan to keep it well maintained...

#18 ·
That is an awesome project. The things that the kids build in the shops at school there must put the things that get built around here to shame. At my high school I think there would be about 2 people that could/would do work that wouldn't be scary on a trail rig let alone a comp rig. :laughing:

Want to move your class to portland?

good luck

#19 · (Edited)
scoot said:
Davey's Jeeps of Salem OH is he the one that sells wrecked jeeps ? and If so do you have any info on him, thanks