What doners for hydraulic clutch master and slave for a sm420 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Hardcore Tech
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2006, 06:37 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 1760
What doners for hydraulic clutch master and slave for a sm420

What have you used with success?
I'm converting to hydraulic and I have a Camero "manual" bell with a 350 so I'll need to make a slave mounting bracket. I need about a 1-7/8s" stroke for full release. I have a stock wrangler master in my possession with a 11/16" bore.
Any info is appreciated.Thanks in advance.
-Kerry

Last edited by BossBuilt; 02-26-2006 at 08:30 AM.
BossBuilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 08:32 AM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 1760
uh humm...
Old 02-26-2006, 09:06 AM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 37184
I'd suggest contacting Advanced Adapters, and obtaining one of their catalogue/conversion manuals. They discuss various bell housing/slave cylinder combos. I used the Jeep slave cylinder referred to as "Iron Duke" (AA # 716331), along with my '88 stock Jeep master cylinder. I'm running a small block Chevy with an AA bell housing and an NV4500 tranny.

Last edited by Bubba_Jeep; 02-26-2006 at 09:07 AM.
Bubba_Jeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 10:44 AM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 1760
I'm a cheap Bastard with a sm420. But thanks anyway.

How much travel do you get out of that comb?

I would like to find a doner slave/master combo that would give me almost 2" of travel.

Last edited by BossBuilt; 02-26-2006 at 11:15 AM.
Old 02-26-2006, 06:55 PM   #5 (permalink)

Member # 30432
I have been using for about 8 years now a 1978 FJ40 slave cylinder. I am using the clutch fork from the 1969 Camaro that i took the engine from. It is easy to make a mount because it is only 2 bolts to mount it.