4.2l to 4.0l tach issue - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Hardcore Tech
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2006, 05:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member # 34440
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 142
4.2l to 4.0l tach issue

I'm looking at buying a 90 YJ that had an 99XJ 4.0l swapped in and have a few questions for yall.

The guy said they never wired in the tach ... something about how it could mess up the computer? Is there something I do not know about wiring in a tach? Should I have any problems if I try to install an aftermarket tach? Is there a way to run the 90 tach?
__________________
noeither.com
locked up xj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2006, 07:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Rock God
 
matts88yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member # 62615
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 1,205
There should be a signal wire coming from the MPI harness. When I swapped in my MPI kit, it was grey with a blue tracer. That is the signal wire. I had to then run the ground to the negative side of the coil to get a correct read out. When and if you have to do this, do it with the engine running since when you splice into the negative side of the coil, it can short out the computer and then it wont be able to run. I am running an Autometer Phantom Tach and it is a lot better than the factory stuff.

Matt
__________________
Unstacking Hardass
matts88yj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 05-04-2006, 08:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member # 24805
Location: Lake Hodges, CA
Posts: 81
And if you use the factory tach, you DO NOT use the MPI signal wire.

I'd have to look through my MPI notes, but you connect the factory tach to the coil IIRC.
__________________
'89 YJ
MattPascoe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2006, 05:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Member # 5344
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Posts: 274
On the 4.0 just splice into the green wire on the coil to the hot lead to tach and then ground.
__________________
If you don't learn from History, then you are doomed to repeat it
Mohadeab is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2006, 06:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member # 34440
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by matts88yj
There should be a signal wire coming from the MPI harness. When I swapped in my MPI kit, it was grey with a blue tracer. That is the signal wire. I had to then run the ground to the negative side of the coil to get a correct read out. When and if you have to do this, do it with the engine running since when you splice into the negative side of the coil, it can short out the computer and then it wont be able to run. I am running an Autometer Phantom Tach and it is a lot better than the factory stuff.

Matt
Do it with the engine running? What about dissconnecting the puter before doing the splice? Just curious if that would be OK as well.



Thanks for all the help guys.
__________________
noeither.com
locked up xj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2006, 06:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 3976
Location: College Station, Tx
Posts: 816
Send a message via ICQ to CJ5-Man Send a message via AIM to CJ5-Man
I think he means do it on a known running/functional vehicle, not during an engine swap since it could cause a no start problem....

the stock computer out works for 4 cylinder tach's. On mine I just tapped the secondary coil wire like everyone else on this thread so far.

Last edited by CJ5-Man; 05-04-2006 at 06:56 PM.
CJ5-Man is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.