AW4 mated to a BB Ford?? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Hardcore Tech
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2006, 05:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4173
Location: Not there.
Posts: 930
AW4 mated to a BB Ford??

Somwhat crazy question but I do know the AW4 is capable of big horses (400hp +) and I have a 429 sitting on the garage floor. I've checked Advance adapters and didn't come up with anything.

Anyone thought about this, even remotely? Could I make up an adapter plate myself? I do have reasonable fab skills and access to a full machine shop. I really like my driveline now as it sits.
__________________
When I die, I want to go peacefully like my grandfather did...in his sleep, Not screaming like the passengers in his car.

Last edited by ShawnM; 07-25-2006 at 05:35 AM.
ShawnM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 10:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Sturgell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 73107
Location: Labia bunker
Posts: 3,138
I am going to venture far enough to say that the 429 will DESTROY an AW4 if you have a moderately heavy foot (and how could you not with a BBF) I have seen stock BBF's tear up the c6's they came with fairly easily. There is a reason very few if any adapters are made for it.
Sturgell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-25-2006, 11:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Member # 2282
Location: Davidsonville, Maryland
Posts: 439
Send a message via AIM to JohnBuuu
As tough a little tranny as the AW4 is, and assuming you are speaking of a stock one (well, even built it wouldnt matter), but that BBF just has too many torks.
Th400 is the adapter I would be searching for.
__________________
cars
JohnBuuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 04:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member # 46175
Location: Darien Center, NY
Posts: 3,368
The words AW4 and being in the Jeep forum, I have to assume this is going in an XJ or ZJ. Ever put a 350 in one, not easy. I would think the engine bay wouldn't accomodate the BBF.
__________________
USED and NEW 4x4 PARTS - (716) 984-8715 8-5pm EST
Specializing in Axles and Transfercases
Mh4Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 04:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4173
Location: Not there.
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mh4Runner
The words AW4 and being in the Jeep forum, I have to assume this is going in an XJ or ZJ. Ever put a 350 in one, not easy. I would think the engine bay wouldn't accomodate the BBF.
I'm running the AW4 in a CJ\YJ rig right now and I like the driveline as it sits. Supra guys run big power through the AW4 so I'd like to think the tranny could handle a stock 429 (360HP).

Just something I was curious to hear some opinons about.
__________________
When I die, I want to go peacefully like my grandfather did...in his sleep, Not screaming like the passengers in his car.
ShawnM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 10:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Member # 38563
Location: Waterboro, ME
Posts: 2,465
I think those trannies in the supras are the 340 series. The AW4 could probably handle small block v8 power (if built for it, not a stock tranny) but no freakin 429. Don't forget, those supras make a ton of horsepower that isn't coming on off idle, it is higher up in the RPM band, easier on the driveline than making a butt load of torque while chugging the motor.
__________________
95' 4Runner with 5VZ engine WTB...winch bumper
84' M1031 CUCV 37's, 8kW gen
Pietro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 11:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Member # 31158
Posts: 865
Blog Entries: 1
How about a C6.
Joel77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 12:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 226
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 4,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShawnM
I'm running the AW4 in a CJ\YJ rig right now and I like the driveline as it sits. Supra guys run big power through the AW4 so I'd like to think the tranny could handle a stock 429 (360HP).

Just something I was curious to hear some opinons about.
They may put "big" HP through them, but thats not the same thing as big block torque. I think the torque would kill the AW4 quickly.
Ben W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 12:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Pigs Fly
 
vetteboy79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member # 31621
Location: Morganville, NJ
Posts: 6,042
Send a message via AIM to vetteboy79
Biggest problem with the AW4 trans is heat buildup, and a lot of torque at a slow speed will do that instantly. If you can keep it cool and have decent gearing in the t-case and axles it MIGHT work.

But you should buy my rebuilt TH400 just to be sure.
__________________
'94 XJ RIP, time to move on
New East Coast TTB racer in the works, trimmin' the fat...
Build Thread

Flying Pig Racing #512

Last edited by vetteboy79; 07-26-2006 at 12:09 PM.
vetteboy79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.