32rh->AW4 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Hardcore Tech
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2006, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Member # 64625
Posts: 198
32rh->AW4

Ok so perhaps this shouldn't be in the hardcore section... perhaps it should....

Ive done my searches and so far it seems as if the 32rh is totally non existant and ignored... so if anyone has DEFINATIVE knowlage it would be greatly appreciated....

I know that i need (should get) a '98 or newer AW4,and that it uses a standalone control unit. I have read that once you swap out everything that there is conflict with the Stock TJ PCU attempting to control the lockout on the aw4. 3speed controller attempting to operate the 4 speed.

After that is where it gets fuzzy....

I have read about a couple of fixes utilizing looped relays and resistors to fake the 3spd PCU into believing its controling, all while letting the standalone do the work... However because the controler and engine speed sensors dont shift at the same time there are still codes thrown...... call me a puss but i dont like codes.... they can hide deeper problems.

So is there anyone who has done this swap from a 32rh(NOT 999!) in a 2002 TJ to a 98+ AW4 and has DEFINATIVE results?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by FoxinBox; 09-04-2006 at 11:05 PM.
FoxinBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 11:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Corn_Smuggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Member # 28766
Location: Communist Denver
Posts: 1,288
I searched on here for some info like this a while back, didn't come up with many specifics either. I would be interested in finding out more info too.
__________________
-Dan ('63 Willys CJ5)
Corn_Smuggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-05-2006, 04:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Randall Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Member # 12992
Location: Savannah, Ga.
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Randall Edge
Swap the PCM to a 5-speed version. Then you shouldn't have to worry about the codes. I've never seen it done on a '01 or newer which don't use CCD, but you wouldn't want the CCD+/- wires connected anyway as they will cause a code. You also want to leave the SCI transmit wire disconnected. All the wiring should be similar to earlier TJ's. It's not a bad swap and it's covered really well on JU. I did it on my '00 w/5-speed. You will just have an extra step.
__________________
'48 Willys Truck.....sorta......

Last edited by Randall Edge; 09-05-2006 at 04:10 AM.
Randall Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 07:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Member # 64625
Posts: 198
swapping.to.the.5spd.pcu.is.plug.and.play.or.does. some.of.the.harness.need.touching.up?
FoxinBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 04:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Randall Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Member # 12992
Location: Savannah, Ga.
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Randall Edge
I believe it is plug n play. I doubt you need to cut any wires.
__________________
'48 Willys Truck.....sorta......
Randall Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 11:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Member # 64625
Posts: 198
Now.to.find.the.PCU....
FoxinBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 03:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Randall Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Member # 12992
Location: Savannah, Ga.
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Randall Edge
Quote:
Originally Posted by FoxinBox
Now.to.find.the.PCU....
And maybe a new keyboard.
__________________
'48 Willys Truck.....sorta......
Randall Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.