Cant get 4.0 to start - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Hardcore Tech
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2007, 09:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 37548
Posts: 1,224
Cant get 4.0 to start

I have just taken out my stock auto and replaced it with a TF 727. I now can not get the motor to start. Any ideas? Also can somebody post up a picture of their shifter linkage. Also I drilled a and placed my CPS in the new transmission.
bigblacktj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 10:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Moderator
 
apeters89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Member # 7647
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 8,063
Blog Entries: 2
neutral safety switch.
__________________
Check out our new Team Ape Eater Racing Like us on FaceBook
KF5EQF

Sniper Fab
4x4Oil SBwinVPS Custom Splice C2GFab
apeters89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-31-2007, 10:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 37548
Posts: 1,224
I took the safety switch out of the old trans and put it in the new trans(I think thats what it was) and hooked it up but still no luck. Is there a way to bypass that to just see if it will start.
bigblacktj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 04:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 87363
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 66
If what you took out was at the top of the bell housing that was the crank position sensor and unless you aligned it when you reinstalled it that is most likely you issue.

If it'll crank no start cps

If it won't crank at all neutral safety
BAL4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 08:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 37548
Posts: 1,224
It wont crank at all. How do I fix the neutral safety switch?
bigblacktj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 11:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 87363
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 66
ground the center prong
BAL4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 04:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 37548
Posts: 1,224
So pull out the plug and ground out the center prong. I will do this just to make sure that this is the problem.
bigblacktj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.