Pirate 4x4 banner

Full YJ Skid Plates

1K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  bigjeepinYJ 
#1 ·
I have a 92 YJ and I am looking to get a skid plate under the oil pan. I am running a 350 small block. Just wondering what some of you guys do for skid plates. After seeing a guy put a hole in his oil pan the size of his fist a couple weeks ago I have to have something:confused: . Pics we be great.

#3 ·
Here is a pic of mine.
I used 1/4" plate, and lots of angles and gussetts to make it very strong,...but it is very heavy,(probably around 100 lbs).
I recessed the mounting and tranny bolts so that they cant get fawked up. The cross member for the wrap bar is also incorporated into it, but can be removed seperately. To avoid having to remove it often, I cut access holes for draining the tranny and T case.
I have been running it for nearly two years, and it has taken a beating with no bending whatsoever. It also slides nicely over rocks from nearly any angle.
If I had to do it again, and I probably will this winter when the rig goes on a seriouse diet, I would do it with 3/16" hardened steel, and incorporate more gussetts and angles (ahhhh the miracle of Plasma cutters) .
However, If the new link suspension, that is slated to be installed this winter does not require any major changes to the skid plate and tranny mount, I will stay very close to this same well proven design( with the exception of different mounting points and lighter steel).

#4 ·
Man that was soo nice of you to climb that rock and take that pic of your skid just for that guy... :D

I havent made mine yet but i know what i am doing. I have the I6 and and going to take two peices of 4x4 angle (1/4") and but them faceing so it forms a |__| under the oil pan. Then just rum some supports up to the frame. I am sure you can do it with the 350 also.

#5 ·
H8monday said:
Here is a pic of mine.