Pirate 4x4 banner

Duramax Diesel in TJ?

5K views 24 replies 21 participants last post by  FF3PM 
#1 ·
Ive done a LT-1 in a YJ, a 360 in a CJ, but its time to move onto the next project. Heres my idea.....
Jeep TJ with..
Duramax 6.6L Diesel V-8
Allison 1000-Series Tranny
Dana 60 Front and Rear
Somewhere around 8" lift

Has anyone done a Duramax swap into a TJ (or anything else for that matter)? if so, can anyone give me any ideas or feedback on this? Thanks.

-Tim

#8 ·
I was a trainer for GM on the DuraMax intro. It is a great engine made by Isuzu with Bosch Injection and Delphi Controls. This is just stage I of the factory version...stronger ones to come:D That combo is long and that tranny is large. The size of that tranny kept it out of the other rigs(Sub) because of the tranny hull requirements. Quite a few black boxes with that package also.
Would be a sweet deal though....runs like a gas with the power od an oil burner.

#13 ·
I know a guy that swapped an earlier Chevy V-8 diesel into a CJ. Had cooling problems and he hated all the added weight. He took it out and put in a SBC.

#14 ·
They are expensive, but no one should be looking to replace one for awhile. They have been durability tested to 200k miles. Your best bet would be to get a salvage vehicle. There is a lot of harnesses and PCM's that go with the deal. The engine is completely run by electronics, ie; fuel injectors that take 96v dc to fire, etc. As far as the size and power issue, the dmax is a more compact package and has lots of potential for horsepwer.