Atlas VSS Option - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Hardcore Tech
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2010, 09:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 94793
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 95
Atlas VSS Option

I'm putting a 5.3/4L60E in my Jeep. I have the 40 tooth sensor for the PCM in between the tranny and t-case. I'd like to put a speedo only sensor in the Atlas tailshaft so I get proper odometer/speed readings.

I know i can swap the tailshaft, but that seems like a lot of money for no reason. I can't run the Jeep 3-wire sensor that AA sells with my gauges. Is there a standard VSS that is compatible out there?
sylgeist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 06:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
WINNAR!
 
Dookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Member # 23680
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 9,026
Blog Entries: 1
What gauges are you running? Stock?
__________________
Anger is a gift.
Dookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-24-2010, 08:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 94793
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 95
I'm using a custom Dakota Digital panel. I need a standard 2-wire AC signal for it.
sylgeist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 07:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 94793
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 95
In case anyone runs across this thread I found a solution. It's not the most elegant but it gets the job done. I bought the mechanical cable drive speedo gear housing from AA for the Atlas. Then I bought a sensor from Dakota that bolts onto that housing and there's my basic 2-wire speed sensor hookup.
sylgeist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 07:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
WINNAR!
 
Dookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Member # 23680
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 9,026
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by sylgeist View Post
In case anyone runs across this thread I found a solution. It's not the most elegant but it gets the job done. I bought the mechanical cable drive speedo gear housing from AA for the Atlas. Then I bought a sensor from Dakota that bolts onto that housing and there's my basic 2-wire speed sensor hookup.
Thank you for updating your thread. It does help in the future.
__________________
Anger is a gift.
Dookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.