Gone Postal : Mail Jeep Build - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Hardcore Tech
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2011, 07:06 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 140167
Gone Postal : Mail Jeep Build

Okay guys. I just finished up my YJ build and now I'm bored with nothing to do. So what I found was an old Postal Jeep - '83 DJ-5 Mail Jeep in okay condition. Runs but tranny is bad. Clean title. So here is my plan. I photoshoped what I want the jeep to look like. My inspiration is the build that Marsfab in NC did called "Mild CJ5 Build". If you haven't seen it you should check it out!

My mockup...I am a graphic designer so I had to see what it would look like. I like drawing pretty pictures. i hijacked marsfab's cj5 with their cool jeep wall art. I photoshoped my jeep with the CJ-5 that marsfab built since the wheelbase and specs will be really close to that cj-5.

my inspiration for this build is here. Marsfab is a local shop that does excellent work on any type of 4wd. This CJ-5 is bad ass!
http://www.nc4x4.com/forums/showthread.php?t=94675

My goal: #1 to build a fun weekend wheeler that seats 2 and can be beaten up with little worry. #2 build it CHEAP! but still dependable. #3 build something i've never seen before.

Plan is to use a Jeep Wrangler 6cylinder, 5spd and NP231 transfer case with all the computer and wiring from whatever model I find (anyone got one they wana sell cheap?)
Final Drivetrain Choice: '01 5.3L LM7 w/ 130k miles, SM465 granny 4spd & NP231 w/ 2wd low.

axles & gearing:
the owner is throwing in a full width ford 9" rear so that is what the rear will consist of. i'll add a spool and run 5.38s probably
front axle: i gota hp44 full width front from a '76 f-150. spool or cheap locker and 5.38s.