Pirate 4x4 banner

Need Help on a jeep YJ SOA...

8K views 22 replies 13 participants last post by  jpfrk2001 
#1 ·
So heres the deal, I have just recently bought a 94 YJ and cant stand not being able to run a tire bigger than 30x9.50, so I want to do an SOA. I was looking into RockyRoad SOAs when I saw a post about them on the hardcore forums and how so many ppl had bad experiences with the company.

Now I am a very good mechanic and am not afraid of a welder :smokin: but I still want to take the easiest/cheapest route possible... cheaper winning out over easier of course. So I am wondering how have yall done it and what would you recommend to me?

#2 ·
used stock YJ springs + 1" currie? add-a-leaf
bought cheap perches
fabbed shock mounts
bought drop pitman arm
rotate steering box down to correct geometry
SYE
CV rear
cut notch out of skid plate for front shaft.
new shocks
longer front brake lines
ladder bar in rear, ran hardline and short rubber lines for brakes down that.

Think that was most of it.

#4 ·
I'm about to install my SOA in 2 weeks from this weekend. Here's my parts list:

XJ HP D30 and D44 with 4.88s, Detroit in D44
SOLID diff covers for both
M.O.R.E. Steering kit
RE SOA kit w/ 1.5" leaf springs
M.O.R.E. boomerange shackles
M.O.R.E. traction bar
SYE
DS
shocks
5 35x12.50 MTZs
5 1079 ProComp wheels

I think thats everything. Its running me 4-5k

Not the best option for axles but its a father-son project and my dad is footing most of the bill and we got a decent deal on them from a friend.

#6 ·
When I did mine, I bought a pair of 4cyl 4.11 axles w/soa perches already on, driveshafts,and ubolts for $300, two rear shocks ($50 ea), a rear brake line ($30?), and a dropped pitman arm ($50) and bolted it all in. My rear driveshaft is a bit longer so I moved the axle back 2" and it doesn't vibe but I did have to hack my rear tub a bit. It can be done extra cheap, or super expensive. It depends on how you want it to come out.
Travis..

#7 ·