Pirate 4x4 banner

Noob....started building a new XJ and need suggestions

2K views 11 replies 11 participants last post by  xjtony 
#1 · (Edited)
ok, yes, i am a noob to off roading...so be gentle...

I just got back from iraq and did a bit of off roading over there...ok, a lot. I decided that its something i want to get into, especially since i used to go shooting on ranches back in texas and got stuck in the mud many times with my POS 2WD sport trac....

so i bought this:

1999 XJ 4x4 2dr, 86K miles
4.5" lift
stock 32's
K&N intake
Jet performance chip
yakima rack
brush guard, fog lights
Warn rear bumper/tire carrier

No i realize virtually none of this improves my off road performance, so thats why i came here. any thoughts on what i should do next with the suspension/drivetrain/wheels would be much appreciated. I had to put 1.25" spacers on my wheels because they were scraping the frame when i did 90 degree turns, any thoughts on if this is a bad idea or not?

I plan on hitting some of the military training area trails, so i will doing mud almost exclusively, not much rock crawling if at all.

and for the help i offer you this....pics of my current off roading experiences...im a gunner so i get to ride on top for all of this....:eek:

NTC california

Ft Knox KY

baghdad, iraq

and finally out of the 3 vehicles i was assigned to in iraq, this was probably my favorite....although the absolute worst ride off road...

See less See more
#2 ·
upgrades

the next things i would be looking at would be to add a locker to both differentials. also by the look of your tires i would go with a more aggressive tread if you are going to go in mostly mud. those two things would make the biggest difference for off road capability in mud.

#4 ·
never thought about the brush guard, you are right....also im looking for lockers as we speak and am now thinking of upping my tires to 33's with a more aggressive thread pattern....thanks guys!