Aw4 in 98 & 91 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Non Hardcore
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2008, 10:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 108207
Location: Love town Colorado
Posts: 49
Aw4 in 98 & 91

is there any difference between the aw4 in a 91 xj and a 98 xj, like the tcu or wire harnesses?

thank you!
psulliva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 04:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
oldjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Member # 3511
Location: MN
Posts: 5,429
Yes, a lot of differences. The 97 and up have 2 speed sensors on the tranny and are not compatible with the 91 TCU. The 91 might be 21 spline or 23 spline, the 98 is 23 spline.
__________________
Chuck P
The clowns'? Oh, yeah, the clowns. We fight them too entire armies, spilling out of Volkswagons. We do our best to fight them off, but they keep sending 'em in!
www.oldjeep.com
oldjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-28-2008, 10:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 108207
Location: Love town Colorado
Posts: 49
so will a 98 transmission with the tcu work in a 91 cherokee?
psulliva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 04:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
oldjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Member # 3511
Location: MN
Posts: 5,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by psulliva View Post
so will a 98 transmission with the tcu work in a 91 cherokee?
I doubt it. It's unlikely that the 98 TCU would even plug into the 91 harness.

You should be able to use 91-96 tranny with no problems.
__________________
Chuck P
The clowns'? Oh, yeah, the clowns. We fight them too entire armies, spilling out of Volkswagons. We do our best to fight them off, but they keep sending 'em in!
www.oldjeep.com

Last edited by oldjeep; 10-29-2008 at 04:56 AM.
oldjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 12:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 108207
Location: Love town Colorado
Posts: 49
how hard would it be to get new harness and make it work?
psulliva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 11:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Moderator
 
ashmanjeepXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Member # 10249
Location: Vail, Arizona
Posts: 4,801
This might help you.

2000 AW4 wiring in a TJ swap
http://www.stu-offroad.com/engine/aw4/wiring4tcm.htm

Last edited by ashmanjeepXJ; 10-29-2008 at 11:53 PM.
ashmanjeepXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 03:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 108207
Location: Love town Colorado
Posts: 49
thank you ashman!
psulliva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.