Dana 44 Caliper Bracket Offset - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Non Hardcore
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2010, 02:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Member # 93767
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 97
Dana 44 Caliper Bracket Offset

So, I finally started putting together my front Dana 44 axle and have a issue. The inside brake pad (against the piston) will not even fit between the caliper bracket and the rotor.

I have searched, but have found no definite solution. I believe the caliper bracket has the wrong offset. As you can see in the picture, the distance from the spindle surface to the inside of the bracket is about 7/8".

Can anyone confirm that there is indeed a bracket with a larger offset, before I go searching for one?


I believe all the other parts are correct, as everything else bolts together just fine.

Chevy 6 bolt, flat-top knuckles
Small bearing spindles
Ford rotor/hubs
Chevy axle stubs
Attached Images
 
ld50 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2010, 02:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Member # 127313
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,513
Blog Entries: 1
Thats the correct one. I did the same swap, I will grab pictures. The caliper you are using is chevy right? from a 75' K5 and the pads the same. looks fine to me. I'll look at the willys later and see, you can check my build thread on page 3 or 4 I might have pics of what I did too. I'll look and find out, but the pads does NOT go between the bracket and rotor, you know this right? It floats on the caliper bolts. If you need I can grab pics of the front axle on the flatty, same exact setup.
__________________
[COLOR="Red"]Nobama[/COLOR], I don't mind working for my money, you shouldn't either.

Willys Build [url]http://pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=824952[/url]
[I]
“If you don't have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?”[/I] - John Wooden [B]RIP[/B]
[I]"Let every man have a pistol, instead of one man have a tank."[/I]

Last edited by 2003_ram; 05-06-2010 at 02:49 PM.
2003_ram is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 05-06-2010, 03:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Member # 93767
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 97
Unless I am not understanding something, the inner pad must ride between the bracket and rotor.

This pic shows it in that position:


The backing plate (same as above image) looks just like the one I have:


So now I am even more confused about this. Maybe the spindle is incorrect?
ld50 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2010, 12:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Member # 127313
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,513
Blog Entries: 1
I'll get pics and look at how I did th setup on mine and let you know. You have the correct parts.
__________________
[COLOR="Red"]Nobama[/COLOR], I don't mind working for my money, you shouldn't either.

Willys Build [url]http://pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=824952[/url]
[I]
“If you don't have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?”[/I] - John Wooden [B]RIP[/B]
[I]"Let every man have a pistol, instead of one man have a tank."[/I]
2003_ram is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-09-2010, 02:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mall Crawler
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Member # 83394
Location: Dawsonville,Ga
Posts: 276
I had a 5 lug setup on my Waggy and used the stock Waggy brackets just fine. I then went to an 8-lug setup and switched to the bracket you show in the picture. If I remember correctly the offset was narrower on that one than the Waggy one. This has been about 4 years and I am just going off the info I see here...but that would be my bet. Here Waggys are pretty common in the PAPs, see if you can find some around you for cheap and try it.
__________________
Save Tellico/Support SFWDA
Jeff Dodgen
2000 TJ
Tellico Rally Post #942
Dodgen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-27-2010, 12:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Member # 93767
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 97
After searching, I think I have narrowed the problem down to the spindle. It seems I may have drum brake spindles, which are supposedly about 1/4" shorter. Does anyone have a small bearing disk spindle they could measure so I can compare it to what I have?
ld50 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2015, 11:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Back in a Jeep
 
slobrorunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Member # 186755
Location: San Luis Obispo CA
Posts: 270
BUMP here.

I am having this same issue with my D44 setup.

Caliper brackets look just like OP's, same spacing between the rotor and bracket, no way a pad is getting in there.

caliper bracket shown above
78 Bronco hub/rotor (fresh bearings that fit the spindle, not even a seal in yet)
GM flat top knuckle
brand new YP SP706528 spindle from Yukon (Fits 1973-1977 GM half ton front with Dana Spicer 44, 1.785" and 1.625" bearing journals)
Late 80s Jeep calipers reman'd ACDelco right out of the box

What am I doing wrong here? From what I could tell the hub/rotor combo should be ok with what I'm doing? Possibly an 8 lug caliper bracket?
__________________
95 Barbie Jeep
slobrorunner is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2015, 11:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Member # 8525
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 34
I wasn't able to use that style caliper bracket, I had to use the one with the tin dust shield.
__________________
92 YJ, 5.0 NP435, HPD44, ARB, Ford 9", Detroit, 38's
05 LJ, 4.0 42RLE, D30, D44, 33x10.5's
Deej is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2015, 03:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Member # 615354
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 10
Can anyone help me out with this? I'd rather not get another brake caliper bracket if I don't have to.
Same problem on a 79 Dana 44 K10 axle
frenzy571 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2015, 02:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1533
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,217
What's your spindle from frenzy?
CSP is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2015, 02:29 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Member # 615354
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 10
Its a Chevy axle so I'm guessing that. Guy I got it from said it was a 79 K10 axle
frenzy571 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2015, 07:02 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
_Stucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Member # 182743
Location: Central IL
Posts: 410
I don't know the answer here, but I can confirm that there is a different spacing on the caliper brackets from a 6lug waggy 44 (which I believe is the same as 6 lug chevy) and 8 lug chevy. My 8 lug setup (off a k20) had the same caliper bracket (well, from the looks of it) as ld50 has in the 3rd post. I assume you are going 5 lug (bronco hub), so maybe none of this helps.

I have the waggy brackets in the shed if you want a measurement.
_Stucky is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2015, 09:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1533
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,217
'79 Chevy doesn't have the right spindle for five lug conversion. Not necessarily from caliper mount spacing but because the Ford wheelbearing hub isn't compatible with it unless you machine the OD where the inner bearing rides on it.

There's no reason why you wouldn't be able to use the caliper mount that came with the axle.

Last edited by CSP; 10-10-2015 at 09:21 AM.
CSP is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2015, 02:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Member # 615354
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 10
I'm staying 6 lug Chevy, I just wanted to use these new calipers and pads I got, but I guess no one has an answer for it. I'm going to the parts store right now to see if I can find smaller pads or something.
frenzy571 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2015, 07:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1533
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,217
If you're not swapping anything but the pads and calipers then you have either the wrong pads or the wrong calipers.

This thread is about mixing and matching parts from different vehicles.
CSP is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2015, 07:53 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
_Stucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Member # 182743
Location: Central IL
Posts: 410
Caprice pads, which I don't have a part number for, will mount into the chevy/jeep calipers, and have more surface area, but are also thicker. The most recent pair I messed with had a small spacer thing crimped onto the back side of the inside pad. Perhaps you got caprice pads and need to pop the spacer off?

Also if you are going 6 lug but have the brake bracket that is in the pics, well you are trying to use an 8 lug brake bracket. Post pics
_Stucky is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2015, 08:52 AM   #17 (permalink)
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1533
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stucky View Post
Also if you are going 6 lug but have the brake bracket that is in the pics, well you are trying to use an 8 lug brake bracket. Post pics
Not necessarily. There were six lug brackets like that as well usually found on Chevy D44s, and his D44 is a Chevy.
CSP is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2015, 01:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
_Stucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Member # 182743
Location: Central IL
Posts: 410
Ah ok, of the 5 chevy/jeep 6 lug axles I have/had, they all had the brackets with the flimsy dust shield. Both the 3/4 ton brake setups I've had were the solid bracket.
_Stucky is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2015, 05:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Member # 615354
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 10
Calipers and pads are definitely 79 Chevy K10. I went to 2 different stores to make sure and I got the right ones according to their computer
I have no idea if this caliper bracket is a 3/4 ton bracket or 1/2 ton bracket. It came with the axle and had calipers attached to it but no pads
frenzy571 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2015, 06:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
_Stucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Member # 182743
Location: Central IL
Posts: 410
Post a pic and what's the difference from the back side of where the spindle bolts and the caliper bolts go through. This 6 lug waggy caliper bracket is right at 7/8 difference.
_Stucky is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2015, 07:03 PM   #21 (permalink)
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1533
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,217
Was this Chevy axle completely assembled when you got it?

It's not very clear what you started with since you hijacked an old thread with a topic of using a mix of Ford/Chevy/Jeep parts.
CSP is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2015, 04:38 AM   #22 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Member # 615354
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 10
Yeah, sorry about that
It was a completely assembled Chevy K10 axle besides the missing brake pads.
frenzy571 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2015, 04:41 AM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Member # 615354
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 10
Stucky, what do you mean whats the difference?
frenzy571 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2015, 06:19 AM   #24 (permalink)
Registered User
 
_Stucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Member # 182743
Location: Central IL
Posts: 410
Measure it. I set it flat on a bench and put a tape up to it. 7/8 inch difference. What is yours?
_Stucky is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2015, 08:51 AM   #25 (permalink)
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1533
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,217
He's asking what you're measuring Stucky.

What did you set on a flat bench and measure?
CSP is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.