Mog-9 Build Thread.... !!! PICS !!! - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Mercedes
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2009, 06:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
I like .XLS

Member # 9393
Mog-9 Build Thread.... !!! PICS !!!

Well, I'm no expert so this isn't going to be a nice quick "How To" thread....

I've been doing my homework, and learning as much as I can about the process so all I'm going to do is post up the pics of my struggles and document whatever learning I do along the way. Anyone with experience who wants to offer suggestions along the way is welcome to jump in here.

I'd prefer to get helpful advice even if I have to go backwards to re-do something... the alternative is to do things wrong, and I'm not interested in that.

So.... here we go:

I've got a set of 404 axles (one steer, one non-steer) and a set of Spidertrax 9" housings. I wanted to do a basic mock-up with one axle and the frame just to see what sort of clearances issues I was going to have.

The first setback was that I didn't have a 55mm socket, or a way to generate 750Lbs of torque to remove the massive hub nuts...so I did the only other thing that I could think of:

I simply unbolted the portal from the intermediate adapter on the axle housing and slid the entire drum brake / portal & inner axle off as a single unit. There is a small tube running around the perimeter of that portal bearing...looks like a brake line with a banjo fitting, but might be some sort of gear oiler?