need a new bike, I am a fawkin noob - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Mountain Bikes
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2007, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fistful of Boomstick

Member # 13344
Send a message via AIM to usmcdoc14 Send a message via Yahoo to usmcdoc14
need a new bike, I am a fawkin noob

I don't know shit about ANYTHING currently on the market. I have not rode since 96 or so
what I do know:
I do not like full suspension bikes nor do I need one for what I do.
I need a good strong "beater", I am not a "finesse" rider
I could go to walmart and get a bike but I would fawking HATE it in the long run.
I will be commuting to work on it in all Virgina weather (6 miles)
I will beat on it at lunch on assorted trails.

I am 6'1" 210lbs 34" inseam, I don't want to spend over $500 shipped to me, I would like to spend less.
does this bike bring the suck?
http://www.jensonusa.com/store/produ...0+Bike+05.aspx

You cant ban knowledge, learn to make your own guns right Here.
New York, Colorado, Maryland, Conneticut….is your state next? Yes it is. Write, Vote and Fight.
usmcdoc14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 07:59 AM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 18748
Doc, heard some good stuff about the Jamis bikes, but I wouldn't want that bike as a commuter. It only has a 22/32 chain ring setup. You could add the third chain ring, which you will need for commuting at a higher speed, but I still don't think you will be happy with it.

If you plan to commute 6 miles (back and forth??) on a mountain bike your going to at least want a second set of street tires. But frankly I would be shopping for two different bikes. A roadish bike and a mountain bike.