Uncle Lester - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Mud
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2012, 01:37 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 173636
Uncle Lester

Hey guys/gals. Im shawn from Lac La Biche AB. I'm 22. Ive been cruising this site for a year or two. Ive been following the big block bogger build and other chevy builds. come get some ford boy!. Learned some things, Lots more to learn OMG. Any ways this is my mud truck i bought when I got out of the hospital. I bought it so it would encourage me to learn some fab skills and take my awsome dad out boggin. He's HD mechanic by trade and he's shown me alot with dirt bikes and fixing stuff.

so on to the build. i found the truck a year ago on kijiji for really cheap. and it had some really good guts in it to begin with, saved me time n money. 81 chev 454, 205, 14ff, d60, 4:10 gears. 454, sm465. 44 boggers, 12k warn, 4 big lightforcers, bumper, the deck looks good cuz everybodys got beds i thought this thing looks kinda mean. And it will be when im done..

The way it looked when i bought it.
[IMG]http://i582.photobucket.com/albums/ss265/1974newport/005.jpg[/IMG

from there I decided to beef up the suspension and steering.
when i got the thing home I went trough it. i discovered that the gears in the 60 were fawked in one spot. so i picked up new ring and pinon set. A year later I SHOULD HAVE done the front and rear in like 4.56 or somthing but o well. There was no front driveshaft which i think led to the gears fawking up, cause my headers have a nasty dent from the shaft comming apart and ya...
I had to beef up the deck with some 2 inch square heavy wall.
I bought Lockers
I bought PSC's hydo assist (what a frigging headache getting the right kit here to canada, they sent me a jeep kit, then my kit went to somewhere to quebec.....
I bought the crossover kit with the high steer arms.