Pirate 4x4 banner

1981 Toyota brake grab

1K views 11 replies 3 participants last post by  Provience 
#1 · (Edited)
As the weather has gotten colder, the passenger side rear brake has started locking up on me. It started on my way home fom work one evening, i stopped a couple stoplights and all was normal, then all of a sudden i went to slow down to another from about 40mph and the rear pass side tire locked up pretty hard and skidded up to a stop.

When i release the pedal, everything releases fine and nothing makes any noises out of the ordinary. It feels like the other 3 wheels grab like they used to, if i push harder on the pedal while the pass rear tire is skidding i can feel the truck wanting to stop faster, so im guessing that might mean the problem lies only in the pass rear.

I researched brake grabbing issues, and from what ive rear, its usually leaky rear axle seals or a bad wheel cylinder. I have some experience with rear seals, ii put a set in my 84 some years ago, these dont appear to be leaking, but i have never experienced brake grab issues before so im not totally sure how to tell if the pads are saturated or not. Mine looked in decentshape, i cleaned them and they didnt look oiley or anything and were in pretty good shape, lots of shoe material.
I do not have any experience in replacing or diagnosing wheel cylinders, the ebrake seems to function and actuate correctly on both sides in the rear.

I have limited space for working at my place, but later this weekend i want to tear in to it further at a garage i have access to. I have only been in so far as the problem wheel and brake drum removed and looked over by me. The shoes were tight and holding thed drum to the wheel so i readjusted the shoe clearance roughly hoping that might help. It made it easier to work on but did not change the issue.