New GM gauge cluster question - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Newbie General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2012, 11:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Member # 78077
Posts: 2,056
New GM gauge cluster question

Will changing the gauge cluster on a 1999 GM truck cause the mileage to change?

I thought the mileage was stored in the computer and the odometer was just a read out like a computer screen.

Clif notes, Guy selling a truck says the guage clustere was changed out and the truck has only 120K miles, but the odometer read 300k beciase of the used gauge cluster.
__________________
Don't blame me, I voted against him.

Last edited by #rawkon; 03-23-2012 at 11:28 AM.
#rawkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 11:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Rock God
 
LeadfootCJ7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 85264
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 1,339
Send a message via AIM to LeadfootCJ7
The milaeage is also kept in the computer. Someone who knows how to use a Tech2 can find out what the computer shows. I believe it will also have the vin in the computer so you can verify it belongs to that truck.

When I used to work at a dealer, the wrecker drivers would put in a toggle switch to kill the signal to the dash cluster (then it wouldn't increase miles as they drove). They would bring wreckers in for warranty work and it was obvious those things had way more miles than the dash showed. We would check the computer with a Tech2. We VIN blocked many wreckers because of that.
__________________
81 CJ7 258/NV4500/Dana 300 4" Skyjacker lift & 1" BL; 4.10 gears, Detroit lockers, Warn M8000
LeadfootCJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-30-2012, 09:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Permanent Newb
 
Cooter!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Member # 176672
Location: Crawling up your skirt.
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by #rawkon View Post
Clif notes, Guy selling a truck says the guage clustere was changed out and the truck has only 120K miles, but the odometer read 300k beciase of the used gauge cluster.
He is a scammer ^^^^^

Adding a new or used cluster to a truck and it will display whatever the COMPUTER tells it to. The original display doesn't matter.

The milage is held in the ECM AND the TCM.

The Tech 2 will tell you if the computer is for the truck or not.
__________________
Peterson's 4 Wheel & Off-road UA2014 Alumni.
A HUGE thanks to some amazing people and sponsors!
OFFROAD DESIGN, WARN, NITTO, NITRO GEAR, POWER PRODUCTS UNLIMITED, PACIFIC FAB, VOODOO ROPES, BDS SUSPENSION, BANKS POWER, SPEAKER LIGHTS.

Watch this space for Project Ultimate Resurrection 2015!!
Cooter! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.