My chuggy has gone buggy! Help, Alarm issues ZJ - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Newbie General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2003, 01:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 7952
Location: Anywhere the Army puts me
Posts: 76
My chuggy has gone buggy! Help, Alarm issues ZJ

Having some trouble with my alarm going off.

Basically when I reconnect my battery that SOB starts flashing to beat the band.

I don't mind taking it all out or splicing wires together, but I really don't have much to go by. I am no car thief, but with the ZJ being one of the worlds most stolen vehicles I would imagine this has gotta pretty simple......

Help me Obiwan, your my only hope.

Oh and NO rear hatch, no doors, no key fob, no nothing pretty much.....
__________________
Used to be Alaska ZJ, have no Idea why I am not any longer.....OFI.
Thrashed ZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 01:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Member # 12939
Posts: 56
As far as I know the only way to deactivate it is to cycle the drivers door switch. Since you dont have the doors anymore figure out which 2 wires were for the switch and put them together then apart again.

Might be able to just pull the fuse for the security alarm then reconnect the battery.
nathanielaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-24-2003, 01:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
SLOwag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member # 14901
Location: San Luis Obispo/Modesto/Oakdale, CA
Posts: 161
Send a message via AIM to SLOwag
What kind of alarm is it?
I had a Code Alarm brand in my SJ (supposed to be a pretty good alarm brand)
Well it just started f-ing up big time.. One time it just randomly went off all night but i didn't hear it and the cops came and cut the wire to the siren. Well It wouldnt' work and then i stopped using it. When i cut the power to the batter one time and then reconnected it the alarm armed itself and i was screwed... SOOOO

I just tore the son of a bitch out and then reconnected the wires that were spliced into by the alarm.
Mine was profesionally installed at the same time my friend had his done. My buddies fritzed out at about the same time mine did and had to have it removed.. So If its a Code Alarm that could be your problem... Good luck..
__________________
[URL=http://www.dekonia.com]'83 Wag,[/URL] SOA, 360

[URL=http://www.fsjnetwork.com]Full Size Jeep Network... More Jeep, Less Filling[/URL]

[URL=http://www.freeiPods.com/default.aspx?referer=8979853]Get your free iPods or iTunes gift certificate here![/URL]
SLOwag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 01:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mo
Everyday is Tuesday.
 
Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 47
Location: Lizzy, CO
Posts: 15,752
alarms?

come awn!
Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 02:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 7952
Location: Anywhere the Army puts me
Posts: 76
Yah the residual factory alarm on this you asshat....





If this is so beneath your skill and aparent wisdom why don't you just answer the question.

How many ZJ's have you turned into a pile o parts like I have? Prolly none and go ahead and say you didn't because you started with a "proper" rig...please.

There is way more Tech needed in this than the "how do I bolt together my D300 clocking ring" shit that is all over the Jeep section....I ain't mad I am just kinda bewildered at your shortsightedness.

Oh and the SJ guy. It is a factory alarm.

Nathanlian, It is the rear hatch that used to do that on my ZJ. I guess I could just start jumping wires together but thought I might get a car thief or a dealership guy to help me out....
__________________
Used to be Alaska ZJ, have no Idea why I am not any longer.....OFI.
Thrashed ZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 03:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member # 22558
Posts: 4
Good response Thrashed ZJ. Some real ignorant people on this board who spend there time posting and never wheeling.
txjeepyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 03:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Keith Strong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Member # 477
Location: The Peeplz Republik
Posts: 12,254
Send a message via Yahoo to Keith Strong
Wow......newbies taking charge
__________________
[CENTER][SIZE="5"][URL="http://www.strong-arms.com"]Strong Arms "Survival Slings" For Sale PM me for a PBB only price[/URL]
[/SIZE][/CENTER]
Keith Strong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 04:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 7952
Location: Anywhere the Army puts me
Posts: 76
Nah, I ain't takin charge. Just didn't like getting blown off for a serious question that without a doubt is not addressed in the archives of this site.

I just wanna deactivate this factory alarm. If it was as simple as snipping a wire I would have done that. But according to the factory guys it is part of the vehicles computer.

But there has to be a way around it since this is like number 5 on the all time stolen car list.
__________________
Used to be Alaska ZJ, have no Idea why I am not any longer.....OFI.
Thrashed ZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 04:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Keith Strong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Member # 477
Location: The Peeplz Republik
Posts: 12,254
Send a message via Yahoo to Keith Strong
Found in 10 seconds of Google.

Question: 93 Jeep Grand Cherokee V-8 mileage: 105,000. I disengaged the battery to check the water pump and after I hooked the battery back up, I noticed my alarm was "tweaking." I tried to take the Jeep to town, and it kept cutting out on me-which is the anti-theft part of the alarm, but how can I reset it to where I can drive the vehicle? I turned the valet switch off and then on, but nothing happened.

Answer: Try locking and unlocking the rear hatch. This should reset your security system.

Can you just loop those wires and leave it alone?

OOOORRRRRRRRR, does it have a starter kil? If not just clip the siren and all the other wires and let it hang there
__________________
[CENTER][SIZE="5"][URL="http://www.strong-arms.com"]Strong Arms "Survival Slings" For Sale PM me for a PBB only price[/URL]
[/SIZE][/CENTER]
Keith Strong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 04:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 7952
Location: Anywhere the Army puts me
Posts: 76
Yep I read that same thing.

"loop" those wires......Um you have never seen the bundle o shit they call a wiring harness have you? But yes I think if I knew which wires to put together this would work.

it has a fuel pump kill. Spark and starter are not effected.

I might just take a key hot and jump it into the Fuel pump relay and see if that works.

But what is left of my dash lights will continue to flash and drain the battery.

There has to be a "correct" way to disable the factory alarm.
__________________
Used to be Alaska ZJ, have no Idea why I am not any longer.....OFI.
Thrashed ZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 05:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Member # 7515
Location: TN
Posts: 254
Send a message via AIM to BMRisko
Quote:
Originally posted by Thrashed ZJ
Yah the residual factory alarm on this you asshat....





I think you forgot to engage the front locker, or maybe its open. Let me know if you need those relay locations and I can look them up, unless you find your owner's manual.
__________________
'93 ZJ, 35s, welded 8.8, locked turdy, 231, longarms, cage
BMRisko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 05:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 7952
Location: Anywhere the Army puts me
Posts: 76
I think I got the relay under the glovebox (but a verification on that would be nice), but I could use the number for the ones under the hood and the outside fusepanel.

Oh and since I have gotten rid of my front ARB I have not broken a shaft....I have to use some different techniques but I will take that over broken stuff any day.

I coulda locked that front in that pick but then it woulda just been 4 spinning tires and a U joint waiting to detonate. Buddy broke his in his CJ with a ox,
__________________
Used to be Alaska ZJ, have no Idea why I am not any longer.....OFI.
Thrashed ZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 05:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Member # 12939
Posts: 56
http://www.jeepsunlimited.com/forums...=disable+alarm

From what I can tell its either this (relay under glove box) or messing with some purple/yellow wire.

Turns out ju is good for something
nathanielaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2003, 09:33 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 7952
Location: Anywhere the Army puts me
Posts: 76
More info for the search engine.

Seems to be that the purple and yellow wire under the drivers side kick needs a negative pulse to deactivate the factory alarm.

So grounding this wire should disarm the alarm.

Links to all that stuff

http://www.wheelingadventures.com/No...st=0;&#entry13

http://www.designtech-intl.com/Conte...04_134_01.pdf/

http://www.designtech-intl.com/Conte...nts/section04/

I will report back to what I have found in my quest to have a alarm free POS

edited links
__________________
Used to be Alaska ZJ, have no Idea why I am not any longer.....OFI.

Last edited by Thrashed ZJ; 09-25-2003 at 09:43 AM.
Thrashed ZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2003, 10:03 AM   #15 (permalink)
#1 BURRITO IN NM!!!!
 
sceep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10798
Location: Nremuda Mexico
Posts: 11,849
Send a message via AIM to sceep Send a message via MSN to sceep
ok.. first of all, be aware that the ECU is tied into the factory alarm.

Best bet...

Tear out the old alarm module.

Replace ECU with non alarm controled one. ~$90

Never worry about it again.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by USDA forest service website
It is every American's birthright to use the national forests and grasslands in multiple ways, including outdoor recreation in all its forms.
sceep is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2003, 10:37 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 7952
Location: Anywhere the Army puts me
Posts: 76
you wouldn't by chance have a Part number for a 4.0 non alarmed ECU would you? Would surely help the database on this.
__________________
Used to be Alaska ZJ, have no Idea why I am not any longer.....OFI.
Thrashed ZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2003, 10:44 AM   #17 (permalink)
#1 BURRITO IN NM!!!!
 
sceep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10798
Location: Nremuda Mexico
Posts: 11,849
Send a message via AIM to sceep Send a message via MSN to sceep
I dont. I believe that all the ECUs are non alarmed form the factory. Once the ECU sees the alarm though it wont work without it. If you remove the alarm controller and relays it shouldn't see the alarm any more and you should be good to go.

call your stealership and just ask am for an ecu.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by USDA forest service website
It is every American's birthright to use the national forests and grasslands in multiple ways, including outdoor recreation in all its forms.
sceep is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2003, 11:32 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member # 15041
Location: Central TX
Posts: 106
I had the same probblem with my thrashed ZJ.

I had to ground the purple wire comming out of the alarm modual, when you do this, it should shut it off.

My doesnt require the modual anymore from a wiered work of nature.

One day it was acting like the alarm was going off (engine start but die) but the alarm wasnt doing anything.

Disconected the alarm modual and all is fine, works pefect even after disconecting the battery several times. very unusal.

Here is my thrased zj

K-Rigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2003, 11:46 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Keith Strong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Member # 477
Location: The Peeplz Republik
Posts: 12,254
Send a message via Yahoo to Keith Strong
Call Neil at J&W (link in sig) and have him ship you a non alarm ecu
__________________
[CENTER][SIZE="5"][URL="http://www.strong-arms.com"]Strong Arms "Survival Slings" For Sale PM me for a PBB only price[/URL]
[/SIZE][/CENTER]
Keith Strong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2003, 06:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 7952
Location: Anywhere the Army puts me
Posts: 76
The Alarm modual? where is it located at? Thanks for the help
__________________
Used to be Alaska ZJ, have no Idea why I am not any longer.....OFI.
Thrashed ZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 07:20 AM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member # 15041
Location: Central TX
Posts: 106
It should be under the dash i think in the center to the right side of the dash.

Im not sure though because i have no dash and dont remeber where it was.

But its a black box the size of a large cigrete box or small cigar box. It has the words Alarm...... on it.

Ill try to post a picture when i get home.
K-Rigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.