Toyota OBA Stock A/C ? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Newbie General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2003, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member # 22563
Location: Sacramento,CA
Posts: 1,000
Toyota OBA Stock A/C ?

There is a low pressure switch wire (on the stock a/c) that needs to be disconnected ( wires are behind the glove box) in order for the a/c clutch to be activated with the stock a/c switch. My question is could anyone please tell me which wire(s) they are and any thing else I need to do to use the stock switch? Thanks for you help.

Vehicle is a 85 Toyota P.U.
Engine 22r


I did search - on board air, onboard air and found people who talked about it but did not say which wires there were. Thanks for your help.
__________________
83 Toyota P.U. w/ dual cases, lockers, etc.

[URL="http://www.fullsize4wd.com"]http://www.fullsize4wd.com[/URL]

Last edited by WHEEL N TOY; 11-07-2003 at 09:41 PM.
WHEEL N TOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 10:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 54
Posts: 4,853
It's the only pressure switch that's on the condensor behind the glove box. You don't want to disconnect them, you want to jumper them. Other than that, nothing else needs to be done to use the factory dash button (which also ups the idle a bit, something you want anyways).
Pazuzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-07-2003, 10:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member # 22563
Location: Sacramento,CA
Posts: 1,000
Thanks for the reply. So I unplug it and connect the two wires together? I am just trying to be careful. I don't want to fawk things up.
__________________
83 Toyota P.U. w/ dual cases, lockers, etc.

[URL="http://www.fullsize4wd.com"]http://www.fullsize4wd.com[/URL]
WHEEL N TOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member # 22563
Location: Sacramento,CA
Posts: 1,000
I am going to this tomorrow. Now to wire in the new pressure switch (square D), it has to be wired in to turn off the compressor when the tanks is full. Correct? Do I do this with the wire coming from the clutch of the A/C compressor?

wire coming from harness ...... to the sqaure D ....... to the a/c compressor clutch.

Is this correct?
__________________
83 Toyota P.U. w/ dual cases, lockers, etc.

[URL="http://www.fullsize4wd.com"]http://www.fullsize4wd.com[/URL]
WHEEL N TOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 11:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 54
Posts: 4,853
OK, link the two wires that go into the factory switch together.
Then, wire the new pressure switch inline between the push button and the clutch. It's only one wire now, so just cut it and splice the new pressure switch in. It should just have 2 wires...

But remember, even if the pressure switch is triggered because your at 100psi or whatever, if you still have the AC push button in, you'll still have the high idle. So, if you're not using the OBA, turn it off (don't let the Square D do all of the work for you).
Pazuzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.