Older TJ skid in an 04 Rubi? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Newbie General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2004, 06:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member # 25309
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 24
Older TJ skid in an 04 Rubi?

Spent the weekend in Moab. Had a blast, did Poison Spider Mesa, Moab Rim and Cliffhanger. We had a good time but of course the factory shovel was a real low point (pun intended). I want to put in a flatt TT but I don't have the cash right now for all the necessary parts+the skid. I'd love to build a skid, but since I quit turning a wrench for a living I don't have access to the necessary tools and equipment.

What I was hoping I might be able to do or at least try for probably a couple of bucks was to find a 2002 or older skid plate for an auto and see if it will work on my Rubi (with the 241 t-case) for an additional inch or so of clearance (compared to the stock skid an inch would be huge). I have a 1.25' body lift so t-case clearance won't be an issue. DS vibes will likely be a problem but I want to try it and see, and if it works I'll get a new DS and do the TT later.

The real question is: Is the mounting both to the frame and for the tranny mount the same for both skid plates? Anybody know?

TIA
chevtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 07:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Member # 22342
Location: Big Bear Calif.
Posts: 706
"Make your own", is what you're going to get on this forum. I suggest you delete this thread, and start another one on the other forum. (newbie)
__________________
Pete
4x4 Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-19-2004, 07:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
B_j33pz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member # 20501
Location: Dover, PA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to B_j33pz
Re: Older TJ skid in an 04 Rubi?

Quote:
Originally posted by chevtech
The real question is: Is the mounting both to the frame and for the tranny mount the same for both skid plates? Anybody know?

TIA
If I recall correctly the spacing of the bolts is different from 02 on. And I think the threads are different in 02 and up. Other than that I think the tranny bolts right up to the skid without any issues.
__________________
Suzuki Samurai w/ tube sitting on 39.5" krawlers

Last edited by B_j33pz; 01-19-2004 at 07:21 PM.
B_j33pz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 07:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member # 25309
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally posted by 4x4 Pete
"Make your own", is what you're going to get on this forum. I suggest you delete this thread, and start another one on the other forum. (newbie)
F^%*ing new guy to you pal Thanks though I'll take my chances. I'm not going to find a newbie that has a clue about tranny mounts and frame bolt spacing so how bout it anyone? Flame away (answer in between the curses if you know the answer)
chevtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 07:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Member # 22342
Location: Big Bear Calif.
Posts: 706
I'll get the popcorn..
__________________
Pete
4x4 Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 08:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mr. FixIt
 
DE Jeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Member # 5295
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 515
Re: Older TJ skid in an 04 Rubi?

Quote:
[i]
The real question is: Is the mounting both to the frame and for the tranny mount the same for both skid plates? Anybody know?

TIA [/B]

I think your find that even the Newbi's on this bb know that they changed the skid plat mounting for the '03 year. Hell, you could have just looked at the web sites that sell skids and figured it out. Beat it until you come up with some real tech.
DE Jeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 08:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member # 25309
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 24
Re: Re: Older TJ skid in an 04 Rubi?

Quote:
Originally posted by DE Jeeper



I think your find that even the Newbi's on this bb know that they changed the skid plat mounting for the '03 year. Hell, you could have just looked at the web sites that sell skids and figured it out. Beat it until you come up with some real tech.
Yeah, you're right I guess what it boils down to is can I drill some new holes and make it fly till I can get access to a welder again. Unless someone has tried it I'll probably just have to wing it. Anyone tried it?
chevtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 10:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Shmitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member # 17663
Location: Central Mass
Posts: 99
numbnutts...

talk to a reputable dealer of A.) the vehicle you bought or B.) the skid you're looking for. this freakin' post isn't even worthy of JU fawkin' newbie has one bad attitude and a sack of shit for brains.
Shmitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 10:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member # 25309
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 24
Re: numbnutts...

Quote:
Originally posted by Shmitty
talk to a reputable dealer of A.) the vehicle you bought or B.) the skid you're looking for. this freakin' post isn't even worthy of JU fawkin' newbie has one bad attitude and a sack of shit for brains.
No point arguing with someone who obviously can't read
chevtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 10:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Shmitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member # 17663
Location: Central Mass
Posts: 99
Unlike your sorry @ss i made it past 3rd grade to 4th The leapfrog books help too.

I didn't see you state that you checked with a dealer or current skid manufacturer to get an answer or some numbers. Go the fawk ahead and buy an 02 skid for a couple of bucks...crash and burn
Shmitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 10:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member # 25309
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally posted by Shmitty
Unlike your sorry @ss i made it past 3rd grade to 4th The leapfrog books help too.

I didn't see you state that you checked with a dealer or current skid manufacturer to get an answer or some numbers. Go the fawk ahead and buy an 02 skid for a couple of bucks...crash and burn
Ummm.......... I worked at a dealer dude, if you think they know the dimensions and spacing of skidplates that go on different model years, as well as frame spacing and whether or not you can adapt another part to fit by drilling, flogging whatever, you need to find some different leapfrog books.

Anyway back to the question, anyone tried to adapt a pre 02 skid to a new model TJ for cheap easy clearance?
chevtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 11:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Moderator
 
apeters89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Member # 7647
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 8,066
Blog Entries: 2
Re: Re: Re: Older TJ skid in an 04 Rubi?

Quote:
Originally posted by chevtech


Yeah, you're right I guess what it boils down to is can I drill some new holes and make it fly till I can get access to a welder again. Unless someone has tried it I'll probably just have to wing it. Anyone tried it?
Why couldn't you? Drill the freakin holes, make it fit... make your DriveShaft adjustments... post some tech when you're done and make this thread somewhat usefull for all the other rich guys buying a Rubicon.
__________________
Check out our new Team Ape Eater Racing Like us on FaceBook
KF5EQF

Sniper Fab
4x4Oil SBwinVPS Custom Splice C2GFab
apeters89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 04:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
Rock God
 
dan58's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member # 19330
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 1,989
Send a message via AIM to dan58
What about the mounting bracket for the lockers? Why not just save your coin for a while and buy the Medic skid ( www.jeepmedicfabrication.com )? It's not *that* expensive. 1/4 steel and 2" of clearance.
If you have an auto, you definitely won't be using the factory tranny skid with the pre-03 t-case skid.
dan58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 04:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Mo
Everyday is Tuesday.
 
Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 47
Location: Lizzy, CO
Posts: 5,963
Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 12:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hophead
 
Joe_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4829
Location: Leander, Tx
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via AIM to Joe_W
I seem to remember reading somewhere that the Rubicon skid plate needs a "bubble" to clearence something thats up above it, can't really remember specifics. Made it sound like its not going to work though
__________________
Sure, there are 49 other states in the Union, but they are smaller, wussier, and the people talk funny.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddin
The vagina doubles as a neat little fanny pack.
Joe_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 12:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 25765
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 0
SAVE UP. wait and get the tt. or go L.A. Theres more mounted to the top of your skid in the rubi than the older modles. Locker compressors Controlls and and whatnot. With the older skids they are shorter front to rear where these parts are mounted. but hey. Its you cash $.02
__________________
STUK SUX.
Perkinzzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 11:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Diggity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Member # 38719
Location: Colorado
Posts: 51
[QUOTE=Shmitty]Unlike your sorry @ss i made it past 3rd grade to 4th The leapfrog books help too. QUOTE]

no way! 4th grade. I only made it past 3rd to 12th grade and then on to college
Diggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 01:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 43184
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,188
You can try. The only mounting differences on the inside of the Rubi skid is the locker pumps (two nutserts). All that other stuff is on the frame rail.

I dont think its worth the hassle to go from one shtty skid, to another slightly less shtty, but shtty none the less skid.

Head over to RockKrawler.com. They have a skid that adds 1 inch, gets rid of the shovel lip, and doesnt raise your output at all. Its just tighter clearenced.

And its cheap
bnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.