Why you need a SYE kit. - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Newbie General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2004, 04:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27230
Location: Chapin SC
Posts: 275
Send a message via AIM to JEEPSKEET
Why you need a SYE kit.




nuff said!!
__________________
If anyone ask's, I got it off E-BAY for $100.00
JEEPSKEET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 05:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26229
Location: No Cal
Posts: 121
stupid newbie question

I just gotta SYE and cv shaft, so dat don't happen to me!

but here's the stupid newbie question... of which i'm already pretty sure of the answer... If I get an Atlas T-case, I don't need the SYE, do I?

fg
flywaterguide is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-15-2004, 05:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27230
Location: Chapin SC
Posts: 275
Send a message via AIM to JEEPSKEET
Nope !! atlas has no slip yoke!!
it's the BIG-BOY t-case!!
__________________
If anyone ask's, I got it off E-BAY for $100.00
JEEPSKEET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 08:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member # 19579
Location: Landisville, PA
Posts: 344
Wow...that's the second person I've seen in a couple weeks that have had problems. I'm constantly trying to convince people a SYE IS a good idea.
But......you know how that goes....
Some people just don't get it.

Let me borrow these pictures.
__________________
Izzy II: Lifted, locked, and ready to rock!!
Janster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2004, 06:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Member # 33158
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 47
Question: with a short shaft kit in a 231, is it anywhere near an atlas in terms of strength?
shankles43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2004, 08:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member # 17313
Location: Tower, MN
Posts: 2,797
I guess now we know what the jeep thing really is..
__________________
A recent survay of over 1000 trailer parks in the southeast found the 350 chevy out numbered the mullet by nearly 4:1, draw your own conclusion.
Jrod-13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2004, 10:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member # 24704
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,413
I don't need an SYE kit, I have a real transfer case, thank you very much.
Tim84K10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 10:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27230
Location: Chapin SC
Posts: 275
Send a message via AIM to JEEPSKEET
Quote:
Originally Posted by shankles43
Question: with a short shaft kit in a 231, is it anywhere near an atlas in terms of strength?
Nope !! no where near !!

231- chain !!

atlas- gear !!
__________________
If anyone ask's, I got it off E-BAY for $100.00
JEEPSKEET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 01:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Member # 22345
Location: Breckenridge, CO
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by shankles43
Question: with a short shaft kit in a 231, is it anywhere near an atlas in terms of strength?
There's a reason that atlas are so damn expensive! They are strong gear driven t-cases designed for offroading. The 231 uses a chain and is designed for stock trucks. The 231 was designed to be quiet, cheap, and lighweight. I don't think those were concerns when designing the atlas. The SYE doesn't do anything to strengthen the inner workings of the t-case...It helps with driveshaft angle and all the side load that a lift puts on the slip yoke.
Balsax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 02:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member # 29913
Posts: 599
OK, I have an 88 YJ w/ 4.2 & 999A/T. I found a t-case with the sye already on it, but it's 23 spline IP and a fair price. So what spline count have I got? I don't want to pull mine just to count splines.
Pinerog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 10:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member # 29913
Posts: 599
Hey I'm a newbe, asking a newbe question! Can I get some help here please?
Pinerog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.