mechanically locking ARB's - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Newbie General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2004, 02:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Member # 28599
Location: AZ
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to crtbc
mechanically locking ARB's

D44/9 inch with arb's and the compressor blew.. it has a ground in it somewhere and still underwarrenty.. but during the time being is there a way I can make the ARB lock without the compresosr for one or 2 trips without the compressor
Thanx
crtbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Member # 11998
Location: Michifornia
Posts: 4,017
Send a message via AIM to BrettM
get a 2 gallon airtank filled, lock the ARB and don't lock/unlock it too much

that's the best idea i got
__________________
awshifting.com
awshifting@gmail.com
BrettM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-30-2004, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Rock God
 
ROCK HUGGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4329
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 2,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrettM
get a 2 gallon airtank filled, lock the ARB and don't lock/unlock it too much

that's the best idea i got


What he said.....


Without air pressure you can't lock them.
ROCK HUGGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member # 13880
Location: Whidbey Island, WA
Posts: 1,091
route the hose into your cab and have a buddy blow real hard.
__________________
84runner with tons,r151,duals with 4.7s in the rear, a little tube and some tenderized sheetmetal.
[URL=www.lucky13offroad.com/phpbb2]Lucky13[/URL]
[URL=http://www.bluehost.com/track/Luckyone/text1]CLICK HERE TO SIGN UP FOR BLUEHOST.COM NOW[/URL]
Rockabilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member # 24704
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,413
Get a detroit.
Tim84K10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 09:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Member # 28599
Location: AZ
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to crtbc
Detroit in the front is bad for a DD dumbass not to mention I drive 1000mile trips 2x a year with my jeep
crtbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 09:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
Beat95YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Member # 22176
Location: Redondo Beach
Posts: 10,006
co2 bottle. Everybody sells them these days.
__________________
I can break a steel ball in a rubber room!

Beat95YJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 11:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Pirate is KING!
 
RedBullJeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Member # 12217
Location: San Diego Area
Posts: 13,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by crtbc
Detroit in the front is bad for a DD dumbass not to mention I drive 1000mile trips 2x a year with my jeep
Only if you have a full time transfercase and or full time front axle...

We actually run detroit in front, ARB in the rear on all of our rigs...the CJ has manual hubs.

Also, gotta love that you're calling someone a dumass...you didn't even know about your ARB...

Last edited by RedBullJeep; 09-30-2004 at 11:49 PM.
RedBullJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 02:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member # 24704
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by crtbc
Detroit in the front is bad for a DD dumbass not to mention I drive 1000mile trips 2x a year with my jeep

Pussy.

I've driven my truck with the hubs locked in 80 MPH with the transfer case in 2wd and never even noticed my front locker.

I wouldn't even hesitate to have front drive flanges and a locker with a part time transfer case.

Yall just give in to the, "Selectable spool" crap. I love my automatic lockers and I certainly wouldn't trade them for some leaky, failure prone ARB.

Go write, "Are both tires spinning" on your forehead now and STFU.

That is all
Tim84K10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 03:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Member # 28599
Location: AZ
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to crtbc
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBullJeep
Also, gotta love that you're calling someone a dumass...you didn't even know about your ARB...
I was calling him a dumbass becasue he didnt help me with my problem.. he told me to buy a detroit which is not a feasible or viable option since i spend so much on the arb...no constructive help or critcism in my book is a dumbass reguardless of how much he knows...

Thanx for all your ideas.. i ended up solviong the problem with a 7 gallon air tank, 50 foot flex hose and some NPT fittings
crtbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 06:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Typical White Guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Member # 9769
Location: Indy
Posts: 2,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim84K10
Go write, "Are both tires spinning" on your forehead now and STFU.

Wow, that just gets more original every time I hear it You're powers are being wasted on this one board..... you need to branch out into the world so that everyone can enjoy your ability to ignorantly regurgitate witty catch phrases. Thank you for your time

Sean<- satisfied ARB owner
________
Starcraft 2 Replays Where

Last edited by Indyguy; 04-26-2011 at 08:28 PM.
Indyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 07:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
hornett22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member # 35941
Location: Maryville ,TN
Posts: 807
Send a message via Yahoo to hornett22
try a toyota e-locker!

no air needed and you can manually operate them.hope this helps.ROFLMAO
hornett22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 07:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Member # 11998
Location: Michifornia
Posts: 4,017
Send a message via AIM to BrettM
Quote:
Originally Posted by hornett22
no air needed and you can manually operate them.hope this helps.ROFLMAO
and if you have figured out a way to put one in a 9" and a 44 you'd be a rich man
__________________
awshifting.com
awshifting@gmail.com
BrettM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 07:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
hornett22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member # 35941
Location: Maryville ,TN
Posts: 807
Send a message via Yahoo to hornett22
that is why it was a joke.

just having fun.that is a good idea though.i'll make a prototype tonight!
hornett22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 08:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Hillbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Member # 857
Location: Dickson TN
Posts: 1,157
i hear lots of people diss arb's on here, i also hera alot of people rave about them. i fall into the latter category. i love my arb. All of the problems i have seen of others were due to faulty installs. now i know you said the compressor failed, so the finger can't be pointed. i vote for the auxillary tank aswell. i use my just for that.
Hillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 09:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
hornett22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member # 35941
Location: Maryville ,TN
Posts: 807
Send a message via Yahoo to hornett22
i know guys here with jeeps..........

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hillbilly
i hear lots of people diss arb's on here, i also hera alot of people rave about them. i fall into the latter category. i love my arb. All of the problems i have seen of others were due to faulty installs. now i know you said the compressor failed, so the finger can't be pointed. i vote for the auxillary tank aswell. i use my just for that.
and they love 'em.
hornett22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 09:08 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Member # 33158
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 47
what pressure does it take to lock an arb?
shankles43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 07:15 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Member # 28599
Location: AZ
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to crtbc
they generally lock at 30 psi if thats all you can get.. but its good to have a constant supply of 85 psi or so but not above 100psi
crtbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 08:37 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Member # 28395
Location: Lodi CA
Posts: 824
Send a message via MSN to hotcowboy76 Send a message via Yahoo to hotcowboy76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim84K10

I've driven my truck with the hubs locked in 80 MPH with the transfer case in 2wd and never even noticed my front locker.
Would this qualify as a dumb ass comment???! I wouldnt know cause I am too much of a "webwheeler" but do you even notice a fron locker while maintaining speed on a straight path??? I think possibly you need to STFU you dont need to make these dumb fawk responses we allready know your a complete ass wipe! Why you goin 80 mph with your front hubs locked in anyway?? All I gotta say is I would like to nominate you for the "Darwin Award"
hotcowboy76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.