n00b with wheel Qs - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Newbie General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2005, 10:38 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 56588
n00b with wheel Qs

Hi all,

I already said hi in the noob intro page, and I'm cutting and pasting the first few lines 'cuz I'm too lazy. Actually, I posted this pretty much verbatim on another forum too... and I'm cutting and pasting 'cuz I'm too lazy

As of a week ago, I'm the proud owner of a new-to-me '00 Wrangler. Woo-hoo!

I've been riding motorcycles off-road for a couple of years, but I've never gotten dirty in a cage. I got the jeep to keep warm during the winter, as well as haul stuff around, but I want to try 4x4 off-roading too.

The jeep is bone-stock as far as I can tell, except for a 3" Black Diamond lift kit that the PO installed. Personally I think he did it just to look kewl - he said he didn't offroad and the jeep was spotless.

I'm kinda worried about the wheels, though - my instinct tells me that the OEM ones might be just fine for the street but not really up to off-road duty. I tried googling for suggestions but I ended up with more questions than answers... So what's better? Aluminum, alloy or steel? Cast or forged? The list goes on, and I feel like I'm going in circles (no pun intended). Any suggestions and comments more than welcome

Also, are there any type of standards for aftermarket wheels? Somehow I'm not sure el-cheapo wheels from Taiwan are tested to the same rigorous standards as others... but is there any way to know for sure? I'm a strong believer in 'buy well, buy once', but it's not like I have an unlimited budget, either.

And, short of installing wheel-locks, are there any kinds of wheels that deal with lower pressure better?