Pirate 4x4 banner

How do you get the drums off of a 14FF bolt?

1K views 15 replies 8 participants last post by  badk5 
#1 ·
hi
im a newb
i cant search
please help, thanks

Mike

#2 ·
On mine I had to pull the axle shafts out, then remove a large nut, then the drum and wheel bearings all came off. Sounds worse than it is. Get some gear oil, you'll loose a little bit. I got a new seal for the axle shaft too, aluminum thing, but several of my friends have reused their old ones.

I'm a newb too, so don't take my word as gospel... but I figured I'd answer in case no one else does.

-Jay

#4 ·
The nut takes a special socket with 6? prongs on the end that fit into holes in the nut. Depending on the version of the axle that you have, there can either be a key holding the single nut in place, or there will be one nut, followed by a lock ring and then a second nut. If you go to that parts store, they can tell you waht socket will work on a 14 bolt. The other procedures above are correct.

Ryan

#6 ·
Flashover Mfg said:
The 14 bolt Bible has a lot of information and some pics that may be useful to you.

Thanks, I have looked over that thing a million times, but I will look over again.

The special ed's at napa sold me a 1/2 ton "key" that didnt fit, when I brought it back, I called a mechanic, and I got even worse info, but thanks for the good info, I will go back tommorow.

#8 ·
Geez, I think I used a flat head screwdriver and a deadblow to loosen the nut. Mine had a nut and a washer.. The washer was bent into the nut, preventing the nut from turning.. So I used needlenose to un-bend the washer and then the screwdriver and deadblow to loosen the nut. My truck was in good shape so there was not rust and the nut came right off.

I got my info from a 20 year old Chilton's manual.

-Jay

#9 ·
BigJay said: