Pirate 4x4 banner

Toyotas are they worth it?

1K views 23 replies 20 participants last post by  mbburchell2004 
#1 ·
im just getting into the 4x4 world and im trying to figure out the best band for my buck. I have a 1993 xj ,a 1978 ford f150 and can easyely get a toyota. What is the best and will let me have to most fun on the trails. i usualy hang with my freinds who have a Internation harvester, 2 toyotas and a 1993 XJ.

#2 ·
Here is a loaded question, ill take a stab.

In high school everyone purchased solid axle toyota pickups. Then they put lockers in them, bobbed or flat bedded them. Put wagonner 4 inch lift front springs, chevy 52 inch rear springs. Then a winch on the front. I have yet to see where they can not go 5 years later. They have a few thousand invested into them suspension and locker wise, then a good set of tires, and a winch. Solid setup. Get you to the 404 mog axles and 44's stages:)

I already had a 57 willys wagon and proceded to break everything three times just trying to follow those guys. In retrospect, that was a better way to startup then the route I went. My .2

#3 ·
jarvisjeep said:
Here is a loaded question, ill take a stab.

In high school everyone purchased solid axle toyota pickups. Then they put lockers in them, bobbed or flat bedded them. Put wagonner 4 inch lift front springs, chevy 52 inch rear springs. Then a winch on the front. I have yet to see where they can not go 5 years later. They have a few thousand invested into them suspension and locker wise, then a good set of tires, and a winch. Solid setup. Get you to the 404 mog axles and 44's stages:)

I already had a 57 willys wagon and proceded to break everything three times just trying to follow those guys. In retrospect, that was a better way to startup then the route I went. My .2
i think thats very well put and true to the point,

#4 ·