Pirate 4x4 banner

help

791 views 20 replies 7 participants last post by  don't have a clue 
#1 · (Edited)
just bought a 81' toyota 4 banger 4x4 5speed comes with extra 82' t-case and 4speed trans.i paid 800.00 every thing works.i'm new to wheeling,did i do ok or get screwed.like the screen name says i don't have a clue,also should i leave it as is or start cutting on it.how do i put a pic of it on here?

#7 ·
For $800 if it doesn't blow up in 30 days or smell like rotten fish you did pretty good, no matter how bad it looks. If its your first 4x4, don't jump into modifying everything, make it reliable, get some decent tires on it (find some good used 31 or 32" tires, don't spend $600 on a new set cause you might want to upgrade), get a hilift, a strap, some friends who wheel, and learn how to drive it. Once you reach your, and your trucks limits, plan for future upgrades.

#9 ·
Do what this guy says. Start small, get your feet wet with real weheeling and then make more upgrades.

A small lift and some used tires (on budget) to start out with, hit a few local runs and catch up with someone that does the same.

Sooner or later you'll be Tracy Jordan in Rock Crawling events.

#8 ·
no it does'nt smell like fish,but i did find a 10 year old pemento cheese sandwitch and 2 cans of pbr under the seat.:barf: i am kinda new to wheeling,i mean i have been tearing shit up on and off road for years but never had or built a strictly off road/rock 4x4.i also have a 91'toy 22re 4x4 5 speed,and a day or so from buying a 91'toy v-6 5speed 4x4,all three would have been purchased for less than 2000.00,all run good and drive.i want a purpose built rig ya know woods,mud,rocks.you guys have more experence than i,so what would you do to combine the three trucks into one fun ass:smokin: ride.

#10 ·