Pirate 4x4 banner

Lift versus travel... articulation. Discussion please.

3K views 11 replies 10 participants last post by  78cj7-4.3 
#1 ·
Alright this has the potential to be an interestin thread, and I hope to learn a few things as I am new to jeepin, and hope to enjoy my new libby despite the fuel mileage.

I helped an old coworker build a wrangler a few years back, but I didn't really know what he was doing, just that he had a big jeep and was making it bigger. Since then I have learned about jeeps and understand why he was moving his suspension control arm pivot points closer to the center of the chassis, and why his rear shocks needed to be inside the jeep...

My question is what is the point of a lift to fit bigger tires when the suspension geometry can be adjusted in a manner that will allow the suspension to droop enough to top out an RTI ramp? (and the fenders trimmed to fit bigger tires)

I will admit that lifts look cool, but I don't know if I can justify lifting my libby, considering the IFS. I would probably end up retrofitting a SFA and doing a long arm kit, but in the mean time I am considering a 2" lift to allow for some bigger tires....

Also, is there any way to recalibrate the speedo to compensate for larger tires?
Thanks!
I hope I don't start any flame wars here, but I would like to learn a bit more about jeep suspension. I have come from driving the best handeling FWD honda available (a 1994 integra GSR with heavily modded suspension, to a 1999 integra type R #0715 to a VW golf 1.8t) and now I need something bigger and would like to explore the jeep world.
-Mark

See less See more
#2 ·
if you have 10 inches between your wheel well and the tire, and your suspension will compress to 9", a 2" bigger tire and you will be rubbing, so you need more lift. you do not want all downtravel in a suspension, and an rti has nothing to do with real world wheeling.