Pirate 4x4 banner

Project Pathy.

19K views 73 replies 14 participants last post by  onlyonedr 
#1 · (Edited)
I've been working on this thing for a while, and got enough pictures to be somewhat of a build thread. It's not hardcore, but who are we kidding, the tech lacks in this section anyways.

Bought the pathfinder for $900, ran an drove, had some 265/75r16 txr's on it. I wheeled it for a year like that, mainly just learing how to drive.

Well, all my buddys started liftin their rigs, so I figured I would follow suit. I got a 4 inch trailmaster lift and bought some brand new 33x12.5r15 toyo mts on aluminium wheels.

I started wheeling it a little harder, I ended up bending some tie rods, and then on a night snow run, finally breaking one. I then got the hoohaa steering upgrade. This led me to find the next weak point in nissan suspension, hubs.

I broke off many hub bolts, and finally, grenaded a warn hub on a simple hill climb. I bought stock replacement hubs, and also cracked one of them.

I then began looking at SAS'n it. I found this waggy for $150 locally, and went an picked it up. I sold the leaf springs to my buddy for $75

I got flat top knuckles from a friend of mine for free, and the guy that regeared my axles, also flat top'd the passenger side one, and made me a highsteer arm. I am running 7/8's x3/4's hiems in single shear on both ends of my tie rod, with high misalighnment spacers and 5/8th bolts.

I chose to go SOA using a calmini hanger kit. I used the waggy main leaf, then 2 half ton chevy springs For the rear, I used 3 inch lift coils, then a 1 inch coil spacer. As far as gearing went, I used a 4.63 rear third member and run 4.56's in the front. I have no issues running these different gear ratio's.

See less See more
#2 ·