Pirate 4x4 banner

i need ideas for my 1981 datsum build

13K views 56 replies 11 participants last post by  Datsuntruggy 
#1 ·
I just bought my datsun 720 4x4 last Saturday so I'm just getting started!!!! Can I put a lift on the ifs? When you do a walk though do I need to weld the cab and bed togethere? Tell me some links or post to look at pictures are nice too show ur rig

#13 · (Edited)
I just picked up my 63" Chevy leafs springs today! $40.00 for the set and they pulled them for me!!!:flipoff2: Can't beat that unless u get them for free but anyways. Do yall run that overload leaf or take it off and just run the mean and the othere two leafs for a total of three leafs????

#16 ·
I just picked up my 63" Chevy leafs springs today! $40.00 for the set and they pulled them for me!!!:flipoff2: Can't beat that unless u get them for free but anyways. Do yall run that overload leaf or take it off and just run the mean and the othere two leafs for a total of three leafs????

Leave them on...without them they will develop a bend right at the edge of your spring perch and eventually break. They also reduce the axle wrap.

#18 · (Edited)
http://pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?p=11521601&posted=1#post11521601
this is my build of a 521, slightly older with more sexy lines, but to each their own, this is only a partial build i have none of the new updates up yet. but should get you started. i stongly suggest that you BRACE THE FRAME!!!! datsun/nissan have super weak frame design that if you bump in to things.... eg: rocks, trees, more trees, other trucks... you will peal the frame apart and twist it, i braced it 1/4 inch 2x2 angle and still bent it. i was doing 4th gear high-high but non the less. what engne are you putting in there?

#24 ·
Measure the distance from the bolt in the front hanger to the bolt in the back shackle when it is laying completely back and flat against the frame.