5.56 Wound Pictures With Captions. - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Miscellaneous > Outdoor Sports and Recreation
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2010, 07:23 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 109276
5.56 Wound Pictures With Captions.

This is probably a repost because its that damn good. This is pictures and comments from the surgeon on a wound from an AR-15. Very informative about .223 wounds and rifle wounds in general. I only read the first page of posts but I was amazed.

35%: http://www.timawa.net/forum/index.php?topic=17111.0
Old 02-11-2010, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice

Member # 99624
yup... thats why i scoff at people when they say that a 5.7x28 round is just as powerful as a .22...

velocity is a hell of a drug...
If I was an FBI agent on one of these stings, I wouldn't be able to resist building up a suicide vest rigged with confetti cannons.

ALLAHU ACKBAR! "pop"
D_JEEPER is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-11-2010, 08:31 PM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 140542
I sure don't have any desire to get on the wrong end of one. Despite the nay sayers they can be a decent deer round too.
buttrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 09:08 PM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 24775
17 hmr ballistic tip hornady point blank range to the calf of the leg. 17 grain bullet can do some serious damage.
Attached Images

Last edited by mayday; 02-11-2010 at 09:10 PM.
mayday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 10:22 PM   #5 (permalink)

Member # 6234
Looks explosive, even.

What was the velocity of that .17 hmr on impact? Rifle, or pistol? Just curious.
Old 02-11-2010, 10:43 PM   #6 (permalink)

Member # 57128
One of the times we tried fun targets we got a block of ice.

Shot it with the .45, and it took a chunk off the side.
Shot it with the .357 mag, and it snowed.