Plasma cutter problem Hypertherm Max42 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Shop and Tools
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2012, 07:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
AllGoNoShow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member # 46318
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,191
Plasma cutter problem Hypertherm Max42

I have an old hypertherm max42 plasma cutter. I used it a couple nights ago and it worked fine. I went to cut some brackets tonight, it will cut fine for about 3 seconds, then stop. Once it cuts out, I can hit the trigger again and it will go for another 3 seconds or so, then cut out again. I changed tips and still not any better. I took the handle apart and don't see any apparent problems. Anyone have an idea what it may be? I'm guessing something pretty simple, since it was working fine a couple nights ago.
__________________
1979 Ford: Sooped up with some metal and big tires.
AllGoNoShow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 08:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
JohnC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3310
Location: WA
Posts: 729
Got air pressure? I always forget the stupid easy things like turning on the compressor.
JohnC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-19-2012, 10:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
AllGoNoShow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member # 46318
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnC View Post
Got air pressure? I always forget the stupid easy things like turning on the compressor.
Yep plenty of pressure, but I'm a and forgot to move the ground cable, that was attached to my fab table... to the chunk of steel I was trying to cut, which was across the shop. Who would of thought it would still cut for a period of time, without the ground attached to the chunk of steel being cut. In short, I forgot to move the ground cable from my fab table to the chunk I was cutting.
__________________
1979 Ford: Sooped up with some metal and big tires.
AllGoNoShow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 12:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Wyoming9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Member # 113418
Location: New Tripoli Pa
Posts: 1,732
Smile

What you were getting is the pilot arc

It will pilot no matter where the work clamp is.

It was just not transferring to the cutting output.

Glad you got it figured out.
Wyoming9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.