Lathes and Mill uses? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Shop and Tools
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2004, 03:30 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 14055
Lathes and Mill uses?

As I am new to metal working and machining, I am curious as to what types of parts/things are people fabricating with their lathes and mills for their rigs. Also, what sizes and brands of lathes and mills are people using?
PekingMan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2004, 03:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
No comment

Member # 4
Send a message via Yahoo to camo
i have a 9" x 48" bridgeport variable speed mill. uses ? just about any metal part you feel so inclined to make. from notching tubing to drilling holes to making adapters to surfacing heads, cutting splines........just about every thing can be made on a mill.

i am in the market for a 12 x 36 tool room lathe.
camo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 07-23-2004, 05:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Old Rock Doc

Member # 915
I have a JET 1050 Electronic Variable Speed milling machine (10" x 50") and a JET 3HP 40" x 14" lathe. Like Camo, I end up fabricating all sorts of parts on these machines -- from simple brackets to complex gear-box adapters. With practice, I have gotten better with cutting both external and internal threads on my lathe and now make tie rods, link arms and all sorts of fittings.
Old 07-23-2004, 05:16 PM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 15697
I don't even have my lathe yet and I've already though of TONS of uses.

If you had a mill and a lathe, you could just just about anything!
Old 07-23-2004, 05:32 PM   #5 (permalink)

Member # 14055
Any good recommendations on starter units to learn on before maybe trying to find a closing machine shop selling off their equipment? How's Grizzly equipment or is it comparable to HF?