Hobart 180 vs. Lincoln 175 vs. Miller 175 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Shop and Tools
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2004, 09:11 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 32885
Hobart 180 vs. Lincoln 175 vs. Miller 175

I'm leaning towards the Hobart, because I think it's the best value. BUT, I'm not that experienced at welding and am looking for the most idiot proof machine. From what I've heard all three are good quality brand names, and I've also been told that the Hobart is made by Miller, with only slight differences here and there.

Talk me into the best choice. The Miller isn't that much more than the Hobart, but is it really worth it?

Also, where's the best place to buy a welder? I've been looking at Cyberweld and Welders-Direct.

Thanks
cdogg44 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2004, 09:18 AM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 27429
Hobart uses plastic components where Millers have metal. Otherwise I think the design is pretty much the same.
Abugarcia is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 07-24-2004, 10:06 AM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 24273
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdogg44
The Miller isn't that much more than the Hobart, but is it really worth it?

Also, where's the best place to buy a welder? I've been looking at Cyberweld and Welders-Direct.

Can't say that I have used all 3 machines you mentioned, but I have used quite a few different Millers, and was very pleased. Personally, I would choose the Miller over any other brand.

As for the best place to buy a welder, my opinion would be your local welding supply. True, online may be a bit cheaper, but you want to establish a good relationship with your local place as soon as possible. Remember, this is where you will turn for service, consumables etc.
Old 07-24-2004, 10:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
DRM