Anyone here using the spray foam for insulation - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Shop and Tools
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2004, 10:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member # 22721
Location: FORT WORTH,TX
Posts: 2,234
Send a message via MSN to TheRipper Send a message via Yahoo to TheRipper
Anyone here using the spray foam for insulation

There is a person down the road from me building a new home out of metal.I went in there and it was 90 degrees outside and the inside temp was at 75 degrees.This is in Texas..lol..I am going to use it on my shop.It is just like the spray foam out of a can that expands.After it expands they come back and cut it off even with the studs.It is great stuff.
__________________
[SIZE="5"][COLOR="Blue"]www.rockjunkie.net[/COLOR][/SIZE]

[URL="http://www.crackslinger.com/login.php"]http://www.crackslinger.com/login.php[/URL]

[URL=http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=313836]Link's to rockwell question's and info...[/URL]

[URL="http://www.ouversonengineering.com/"][SIZE="5"]http://www.ouversonengineering.com/[/SIZE][/URL]
TheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 06:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knee Grow
 
jstarnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Member # 12575
Location: It puts the lotion on its skin OR it gets the hose
Posts: 1,774
I would use it but the cost seems kinda high? (3000-4000 for a 30X33 with 12 foot eves)

I will have to get a quote on it VS fiberglass batt

a word to the wise it is flammable

and 3 inches is suposed to be r19?

but it sticks to every thing and helps to hold every thing together
__________________
www.5280ecec.com
#5280ecec.com
jstarnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-02-2004, 07:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member # 16024
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 934
I heard something about that spray in stuff a few years back - seems that it has a lot of formaldehyde in it. I'd check out the specs before using it in a home.

I do like it for filling in cracks, around windows, etc. I also use it in truck and boat applications (and sometimes for packing small delicate parts that I sell on eBay - just wrap them in plastic real good, and spray fill the box).
__________________
Check out UCORA.org
VOTE or SHUT UP!
glfredrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 07:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Rock God
 
cybergeek23851's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Member # 32841
Location: In the Tanner's house
Posts: 1,131
Send a message via AIM to cybergeek23851
If the insulation contractor is using the some of the newer products on the market, the formaldehyde and flamibility issues should be of no concern
cybergeek23851 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 09:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Member # 2071
Location: Helena, MT USA
Posts: 5,207
Send a message via AIM to tsm1mt
I have a pole-barn/metal sided/roofed shop.

I had Corbond sprayed in. R-21 IIRC @ 3" thickness. It doesn't require a vapor barrier (it IS the vapor barrier) and it sticks to the steel siding.

34x28 shop, 10' walls.. about 1000sqft @ 3" thickness, IIRC and ~$1400?

I didn't have to do ANYTHING, though.. just wrote the check.

Corbonded Shop

Before insulating:



Day after...




While sheetrocking a month or three later



This stuff required a fire barrier since it's highly toxic when burning. I covered the shop with 5/8" drywall, mud n' taped it, and painted the walls/ceiling white to match the white epoxied floor.

Still need to have the ceiling blown in before this winter.
__________________
-Tom
KE7VUX
tsm1mt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 05:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 7938
Location: The Land of OZ...
Posts: 3,519
I just hope you have enough receptacles.
KS Toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 05:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Member # 2071
Location: Helena, MT USA
Posts: 5,207
Send a message via AIM to tsm1mt
Quote:
Originally Posted by KS Toy
I just hope you have enough receptacles.
Me too!

I've already had to add one more I forgot about.. didn't think to put a 220 outlet near a window for an air conditioner.. d'oh.. but otherwise, I think I have it covered.

Last shop has outlets every 3', and there were places I didn't have enough receptacles.. trying to avoid that this time.
__________________
-Tom
KE7VUX
tsm1mt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.