tig question - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Shop and Tools
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2005, 04:51 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 15689
tig question

i just picked up a syncrowave 250 dx with a water cooled torch. my question is when i am welding aluminum i can't get it to mend. it is hard as hell to get a puddle started and the filler rod balls up and will not fill. what am i doing wrong? any help is appreciated.

did that even make sense?

it welds perfectly when i weld mild steel with it. i changed to continuos hf and changed the polarity. does anyone have any experience with this perticular machine?
Old 07-14-2005, 05:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice

Member # 463
I'm self taught but decent on alum so take it for what it's worth...Weld alum AC and steel DC-, DC+ is for balling up the tungstin (sp)..If you try with DC+ it acts like what you are saying. If that stuff isn't the prob. then maybe get the piece more heated before introducing the rod and back of the heat when you bring in the rod. Sometimes I've also seen it when there is not enough angle on the torch so the heat balls up the rod before you get to the puddle. Just my experience. If you are just starting to weld alum try it without rod for a bit to get used to it, then use the rod when you have good heat control. My machine is a lincoln 175. hope any of that helped.

Nick

Torchmate Racing
www.torchmateracing.com

Last edited by ToyFamily; 07-14-2005 at 05:20 PM.
ToyFamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-14-2005, 05:23 PM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 3239
Send a message via AIM to Brad Send a message via Yahoo to Brad
Didnt mention it but are you cleaning the AL before you weld it? If not that could be a contributing factor
Old 07-14-2005, 06:03 PM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 48682