Pole Barn question - Skirt board - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Shop and Tools
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2005, 09:00 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 37755
Pole Barn question - Skirt board

Hey all,

Im a newbie as far as posts go but have been around for a little while. Great info from everybody.

I am having a 24x32x10 pole barn built in the next month or so.

For those who have seen them installed, I am being told that they are going to build it 4" off the ground. Which means I would back fill with stone up to the bottom of the skirt board and than the concrete which will also be 4".

Should I prepare the area 4" below ground level so that once the barn is built it will be level with the ground and I can just fill in with stone?

Hopefully this makes sense. Thanks.
Jerseywheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 12:00 PM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 48716
Send a message via AIM to VerticalTRX
We put up a 42x96x16 shed a few years ago (built by Morton buildings) and all we did was level the site. They built it aproximatly 3" above grade and we backfilled around the outside with topsoil, gravel in the shed half and poured a concrete floor in the shop half. Its important to have them build it above grade and backfill acordingly for drainage reasons, you don't want your building in a 4" deep pit
VerticalTRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-25-2005, 12:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Axes of E-ville

Member # 48097
Quote:
Originally Posted by VerticalTRX