Ready Welder Q's - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Shop and Tools
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2005, 02:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
GRMhick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 87
Location: Scotts Valley, CA
Posts: 7,317
Send a message via AIM to GRMhick
Ready Welder Q's

Im picking up my ready welder tomorrow, and I have a few questions about it.

First off, I read on the website, that I can use a DC stick welder as the power supply for the welder.

Does anyone know how that works? Will I literaly use the stick welder to change the amps for the ready welder?

What is the voltage coming out of the stick welder?

I only weld about 1-2 times a month, so I feel I can get away with the ready welder being my primary welder in the garage (im buying it so I can fix my junk on the trail). Am I going to have any problems with it? Only down side I see thus far is that the gun is huge compared to the hobart 180, or the lincoln 135 Im used to using.
GRMhick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2005, 04:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Member # 21995
Location: Atrashcadero, CA
Posts: 366
I think you hit the nail on the head as far as the biggest downside.. SIZE..

Other than that if you have a DC stick welder to hook it up to, you should be jammin. However, if you don't have a DC source to control the amperage, the ready welder is a bit of a PITA because the voltage and wire speed is int he same knob... as you increase voltage you increase wire speed. Not the end of the world, but a little annoying.

Also the wire is always hot. So if you touch something grounde, its going to go. (unless you spent the extra $100 to get the gun that doesn't do that)
mucknet is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-26-2005, 10:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
4x4 ADD
 
noclinkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member # 23026
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 1,281
Mine has saved me more than once.

They are also able to use solid wire if you get a tank. That is a good option if you are working at home. Would not be my first choice though.
noclinkers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.