Help with a miller welder problem... - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Shop and Tools
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2006, 01:38 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 14848
Help with a miller welder problem...

Okay, I appologize if this is the wrong forum, but I need some help here, because I think my welder has gone to hell (millermatic 251). First off, I have been useing it for production for about 9 months with no trouble, so I am fairly sure it is not my ability that has gone to hell, but I am open to advice Anyhow, while welding with it, when the puddle gets very hot the welder will start to pulse, the feed is staying steady according to a buddy who watched the wire feeding in while I did it. The wire is either burning back into the gun and the feeding again causeing the pulse effect, or the wire begins feeding to fast and cannot burn properly, I am unsure which. When I explained things to my friendly neighborhood airgass last week, they told me, new liner and it will be good. I swapped the linner and it was a bit better, but not much. I have put 5 different elctorde/tips in it with the same results. The odd thing is, it started this right after I put a new tip in it about 1.25 45lb spools of wire ago and has some days where it is worse and somedays where it is okay. On bad days it will weld about an inch or so before it starts feeding poorly. When it is not doing it so bad, I can compensate for it by adjusting the distance from the gun to the work piece when it starts pulsing, kind of following the pace of the pulsing feed, but this is a royal PIA. When it is bad, nothing I do will make it weld right, but if I stop and start again, I can get another inch or so out of it before it starts up again. My feed rates and voltage have not changed, but I have expierimented with higher and lower feed rates and voltages trying to get it to smo