Microkinetics CNC mill - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Shop and Tools
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2007, 08:47 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 35820
Send a message via AIM to Sound_Man
Microkinetics CNC mill

anyone have any experience with the microkinetics express cnc mill?

http://www.microkinetics.com/cncdmill.htm
Sound_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 08:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
SHOOT TO THRILL!

Member # 26382
i have been looking at them and cnc masters http://www.cncmasters.com/Catalogue.htm#. i have no experience with either one yet.
300sniper is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-17-2007, 08:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Granite Guru

Member # 226
No experience with any of them, but Tormach is another option http://www.tormach.com/Product_PCNC_main.html
Ben W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 12:19 PM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 6152
Send a message via AIM to lsloth
Damn for the price of those I would rather get a Bridgeport Boss and toss all the Boss controls and go with a set of Gecko controllers and some new servos.

Last edited by lsloth; 04-17-2007 at 12:20 PM.
lsloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 03:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wheeler

Member # 47722
if you are going to run production of a small part then I could see it being worthwhile.

A CNC is better than a bridgeport for only a few reasons. Accuracy, repeatability, 3 dimensional machining, and being able to put a tool into a ideal situation by tuning feeds, speeds and having gobs of coolant. add a tool changer and life is great.

Obviously not taking into account the HP and sizes...just apples to apples...

I have used many different types of controls on bridgeports and found that the accu-rite is by far the best for 2 axis..clicky