miller syncrowave 200 vs. 250 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Shop and Tools
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2007, 06:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member # 15461
Location: dryden,michigan
Posts: 3,024
miller syncrowave 200 vs. 250

Has anyone used a Syncrowave 200? can anyone compare that to the syncrowave 250 dx?

I am going to buy my dad a tig machine for our shop for christmas and I am set on a miller. I have taken a few tig classes and used millers and lincolns. At the place I used to work we had a syncrowaqve 250dx that was about 15 years old and it worked awesome. I never used 3/4 of the knobs or features it had and I only ever used it up to about 180 amps. If I had the money I would get that welder but I have a budget to work with. I am wondering if the syncrowave 200 will be sufficient for what we do. has anyone used both machines and noticed where the 200 falls short of the 250 other than not being able to do really thick aluminum for a long period of time? I plan to upgrade to a watercooled torch as soon as money allows but for starters the standard one will work.

has anyone used both that can comment?
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 01:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Member # 1926
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 3,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by 95geo View Post
Has anyone used a Syncrowave 200? can anyone compare that to the syncrowave 250 dx?

I am going to buy my dad a tig machine for our shop for christmas and I am set on a miller. I have taken a few tig classes and used millers and lincolns. At the place I used to work we had a syncrowaqve 250dx that was about 15 years old and it worked awesome. I never used 3/4 of the knobs or features it had and I only ever used it up to about 180 amps. If I had the money I would get that welder but I have a budget to work with. I am wondering if the syncrowave 200 will be sufficient for what we do. has anyone used both machines and noticed where the 200 falls short of the 250 other than not being able to do really thick aluminum for a long period of time? I plan to upgrade to a watercooled torch as soon as money allows but for starters the standard one will work.

has anyone used both that can comment?
I have not used a SW200, but do know that SW250dx came out around year 2000. If the unit you're using is 15 years old, I'm guessing that is it a SW250.

If you don't plan on really thick aluminum (thicker than 3/8"), I think the 200 would be fine. The SW200 will have pulse feature which is nice. 250dx requires a pulse module which is about $200.
__________________
'69 FJ40 with very few stock parts.
2000 Cummins with some goodies to make it smoke.....

Trail Gear's Bad Ethics=Bad Business.
fj40charles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-15-2007, 01:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member # 15461
Location: dryden,michigan
Posts: 3,024
thanks for the input... maybe the welder i used at work was a different version of the syncrowave, im not too sure.

I found a really good deal today though, im picking it up tomorrow.

used only a couple times- 2004 syncrowave 250dx with the tig runner package, water cooled torch etc. 3 tanks, a bunch of filler, tungsten and cups $3200 is it as good of a deal as I figured it was? normally the 250 was out of my price range but seeing as it was about 3k less than if i were to buy all of that new I couldnt pass it up.
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 09:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
PAToyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 37600
Location: South Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 8,164
Send a message via AIM to PAToyota Send a message via Skype™ to PAToyota
I picked my SW250DX a few years back for $2100 with water cooled torch. No tanks, consumables, or such but also much older model. Nothing wrong with it, but I would have paid more for one like you are describing. I'd say that getting a used 250DX is the much better deal over a new 200. Congrats!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roxywheels View Post
When a vagina is involved, there is no such thing as no strings attached.
GET INVOLVED - Join the Blue Ribbon Coalition

'93 Chevrolet 6.5TD K2500 NV4500 Std. Cab Longbed 176K
'85 Toyota 22R RN60 4x4 Std. Cab Shortbed 178K (Currently retired for rebuild)
PAToyota is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 11:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member # 45211
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 388
Send a message via AIM to Code3Response
Sounds like a sweet deal!
__________________
RIP Jason Payne - Rockstar Limo
Code3Response is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 08:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member # 52710
Location: 9400 ft, CO
Posts: 1,457
I paid 2630 for a hardly used 250dx w/tig runner a year ago. Doesn't have the pulse options. Been a great machine. Make sure you have the current capacity for it!
Had filler and cosumables but no tanks.
__________________
Slowly building:
[url]http://pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=530478[/url]

Last edited by jpmassey; 11-19-2007 at 08:25 AM.
jpmassey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 10:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Rock God
 
7.62FMJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Member # 66780
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 1,889
I've been using a brand new Syncrowave 250DX this semester for arc welding (I'm taking welding courses at college), and I love the machine. So much so that I will be looking for one in a year or so.
__________________
Awwww Piss!
7.62FMJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 05:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member # 56692
Location: Williamsport PA
Posts: 1,249
the pulse feature on our 250 is tits, makes thin stuff alot easier.
__________________
1992 Explorer SAS'ed on HPD44/9" W/ 5.13 Locked F/R 36" TSL-SX on DIY Locks
sn0border88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 12:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member # 15461
Location: dryden,michigan
Posts: 3,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by sn0border88 View Post
the pulse feature on our 250 is tits, makes thin stuff alot easier.
how do you weld? do you set the amperage and give it all it's got? that or production work seem to be the only times where I have seen a ue for it...

I set the amperage a bit over what I will use and modulate the pedal, I have never had a problem with thin stuff either. I learned on .040" steel and .060" aluminum, our teacher said if you can weld this stuff then you won't have a problem with anything else at one point I was able to weld 2 pieces of a soda can together... probably not anymore
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 02:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member # 56692
Location: Williamsport PA
Posts: 1,249
Ill set the amps at 145-150, peak at 35% or so, PPS to 3-3.5 and background to 35%

Ive got it figured out that way so I can lay full pedal on .065 wall stainless tube with full penetration, fast travel speed and a fairly small puddle.

Ill also change it around if im just fusing an outside corner joint to give it a welded apperance.
__________________
1992 Explorer SAS'ed on HPD44/9" W/ 5.13 Locked F/R 36" TSL-SX on DIY Locks
sn0border88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.