Pirate 4x4 banner

Li-Ion Drill

1K views 20 replies 18 participants last post by  gustav129 
#1 ·
My room mates girlfriend is looking for a birthday present for him and recently he has been mentioning that he wanted a Li-Ion drill. The 24v and 36v are way out of her price range but she was looking at a Dewalt or Milwaukee or comparable quality brand. Anyone have any experience using these Li-Ion tools. I have never owned one so I have no experience.

Any and all thoughts and comments welcome.

#2 ·
i've got a hitachi 18v Li-Ion hammer drill, recip, and fluorescent flashlight set that i really like. the drill is comfy to use, has tons of power and a handy dandy built in hanger for your belt or pocket opening.

#5 ·
my dad just picked up a ryobi li-ion drill last week. he's had their non-li ion battery combo (recip saw, drill, circular saw, light) for a few years, and it has performed really well. they've all be used hard, and the only problem is the old batteries are finally crapping out and won't hold a charge for very long.

#6 ·
i got the Milwaukee 18V Li-ion for christmas in a kit with a sawzall, circ saw, and flash light. i also got a radio for free as a rebate.

it kicks ass! the batteries have little charge indicators on them telling you how much charge they have left. the tools will also run at full power until about 5 seconds before the battery shuts off. i'm thinking this is to prevent from completely running the battery down trying to struggle thru that last screw. the batteries also charge quickly.

#9 ·
#12 ·