Pirate 4x4 banner

School ME PBB/Gorton Mills

2K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  Kendo 
#1 · (Edited)
I searched and found some good things said about gortons, also some not so good things aswell. So let's hear the good and bad once again if you would.

First let me thank PTSCHRAM, I've pestered him via PM's. :D I'm a newb to mills and I'm trying to learn all I can.
I went and looked at a mill today. It was a 1-22 model, if my memory serves me correctly. Overall machine appeared and ran in good condition. I measured the bed to be 10" by 42". Owner started out asking 2500 for everything in the picture, but later came down to $1900. Can someone explain to me the Gorton taper? I was pushed for time and tried to write down everything the guy said about the machine. I rember him saying something about a NST 30?? I think I misunderstood him, because I haven't been able to find anything on the web along those lines.

Sorry for the fuzzy pics, all I had was my cell to snag pics.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
NST30 is a tapered flanged tool holder. Not as convenient as an R-8, but not imposible to find either.

Enco, Grizzly and the other usual suspects will have tool holders for that taper, if that's your fear. I beleive you can also get collet chucks in that size to simplify things. If the taper is the only thing holding you up and the mill runs, makes no weird noises and is smooth, AND comes with tooling, it is probably a good idea. The fact that it does come with some tooling and a vice will save you some $ and let you get started amking chips right quick.

I'll look for some flanged tool holder examples for you.

edit:http://www.victornet.com/cgi-bin/victor/productlist.html?subdepartments=30,40,50+NST+Tooling:234,232

#3 ·
there not a bad machine, but there is "no" parts for them and the spindle taper is there OWN and I would not take one home as a gift. But thats just me.