Pirate 4x4 banner

Cant strike an arc with my arc welder...

2K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  GiantTechGuy 
#1 · (Edited)
I have an older Century 220v 230a arc welder. I bought it about a month ago. It came with no plug, so I bought a 6' dryer cord and wired it up. Worked fine last month. I burned several rods with it just to test it out. Yesterday I went to use it to weld a spring hanger on my truck, and I could not for the life of me get it to start an arc. It will spark but no arc. The metal was nice and shiny. I also tried it on a piece of scrap metal, still wouldnt work. And it just might be my immagination, but the fan seems to be running slow. I am a beginner arc welder, but last month I was able to run some good beads with only a little bit of trouble starting the arc. I'm using ES6011 rods.

Also, the amperage selector seems to want to jam up sometimes. I have to wiggle it to get it to move up and down. Maybe that has something to do with it? I'm going to pop the case off of it after work today and look around. Anything I should check? Any common problems with these older arc welders? Thanks!

#2 ·
You might try some new rod it may be damp. Sounds like time to remove the cover and get some contact cleaner in to the contacts., but it may be the rod. You can throw the rod in an over to heat and dry the rod. or leave out in the sun.

#4 ·