putting my air compressor outside??? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Shop and Tools
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2009, 07:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
X-Rated's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72707
Location: Norfolk VA
Posts: 1,813
putting my air compressor outside???

I got a 60 gallon 220v air compressor and need to find a place to put it. I dont really want it in the garage b/c wall space is limited and I dont want it to be loud. I might have to do that in the end, but I am looking for other options.

I have extra siding and shingles so I could do a 4x4 lean to on the back of the garage but I am not sure how to go about it.

I was thinking a 4x4 4" slab, cut the siding at the roof line of the lean to and bolt on a header boad to mount the rafters to. Do I need to cut the siding for the walls as well or can I count something over the siding?

Thanks for the help and ideas
X-Rated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 08:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 37168
Posts: 69
I plan on building a shed attached to the house, and was told city building code requires 5/8 sheetrock on the inside shed wall (existing outside wall of the house/garage attached to). They said to just apply the sheetrock over the siding.

Supposed to be a fire break. Made sense to me.

Last edited by Rowdie; 03-07-2009 at 08:32 AM.
Rowdie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-07-2009, 02:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 107373
Location: 61520
Posts: 231
Do You have room to put it in the atic?
__________________
800, 302, c4, D20, jack stands
1wook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 02:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54522
Location: NY
Posts: 2,744
what do you need a pad for? i think you could get away with a good oak pallet on some paving stones with plywood going from the side of the pallet and leaned in for a roof/sides. i guess it depends on how you want it to look.
__________________
86 4runner 7MGE bobed, exo, SAS on 38s, 5.29, fully locked with duals/4.7 and 30spl longs
dopeassjackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 07:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Member # 103610
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 2,290
Send a message via AIM to jeep937
I've been wanting to make a "Compressor House" for a while now. I think the pad would cut down on moisture.
jeep937 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 09:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Member # 347
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 10,167
Most of the moisture is in the air already, if you've got it well-ventilated to keep it cool and permit air intake, you're not gonna keep the air dry.

If there's moisture in the ground, it's gonna wick up through the slab unless you use a moisture barrier.

Randii
randii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 06:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 63058
Location: Van Alstyne, TX
Posts: 150
I have a friend whose 35 gallon direct drive compressor was so loud that we couldn't talk while it was running, so I built him a 2 x 6 lean-to on the side of his shop. I used 2 x 6's for the foundation setting on stones with 3/4 inch plywood for the flooring. I built 2 doors to go on the long side. That way he could not only put the compressor in the shed, but also some of the yard tools that were in our way. He lives out of the city limits, so no worries about codes.
__________________
Maude - An '87 YJ with a few mods here and there.
Maude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 06:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Member # 76809
Location: Geary, OK
Posts: 762
Wether you build a pad or just set it on some blocks or even a bed of gravel the most important thing is to make sure that it wont vibrate and "walk" around. The compressor also needs to sit pretty close to level to ensure it will oil correctly.
OKMudn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 06:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
MASTER TECH
 
f250rollinon37s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54844
Location: Northern cali
Posts: 3,471
many of my old jobs had them outside. one was just on a 3x3 pad and had a slant steel roof and plywood sides that left aound 12" open near the top

mine was outside in a small enclosure untill it died - and the new one wouldnt fit there
__________________
BSW Racing, Super mod & Bitten Off Road, Pro mod
BSW Driver: Aaron Whitehead - Bitten Driver: Mike Stokes
BSW Spotter: Adam Kovarik - Bitten Spotter: Dan Kovarik - AKA -
: me fuckers

build up of the truggy
/forum/ford/544813-update-pics.html
f250rollinon37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 02:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nate379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member # 20099
Location: Palmer, AK
Posts: 890
My Dad has his compressor in the 2nd floor of his shop (barn style building) and it's nice that you can't hear it.

The only problem he's had is the upstairs isn't heated so when it's cold it will usually slip the belt. You have to go up there when it first fires up to make sure it's spinning.
nate379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 04:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
X-Rated's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72707
Location: Norfolk VA
Posts: 1,813
i put the floor in and storage upstairs already, and I could probably get it up there, but it is fairly heavy and I am not sure I would want something that dense putting that much weight all of the time in on spot. I know I weigh as much as the compressor and I walk arround up there so maybe that is not really a good reason not to. Draining the tank would be a pain in the ass

If I did a lean to, would want to use the left over siding and roofing I have to make it match. Question is how to get the siding to "meet" on the sides correctly.
X-Rated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 07:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Member # 104229
Location: All over Michigan
Posts: 41
Inside/outside?

Coming from an x aircompressor service tech. "Outside is fine as long as you maintain your machine" If you deal with a cold season you need to run thinner oil, say 20wt. Then in summer run the 30wt. Then toss in the fact you don't get to hear that little "tickeyknockie" of a valve going bad, not to mention the daily tank drain. All boils down to paying closer attention to the unit when you don't get to see it every day. We used to say "out of sight out of mind" That said, I'd put mine in a lean2 if I needed the space,but I'd rember it's one of my favorite tools and maintain it properly.
__________________
PROFABBY
PROFABBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 09:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nate379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member # 20099
Location: Palmer, AK
Posts: 890
Just put an auto drainer on it. My Dad runs thin oil in it, but when it's -40* it's still not enough.
nate379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.