Home built UTV sized mud buggy ? ideas!!! - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Side by Sides
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2014, 10:11 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 412090
Home built UTV sized mud buggy ? ideas!!!

First thread New User. We are about to design and build and sell a competitor to the razor teryx can am conglomeration.

Our intitial plan is to use a honda civic motor like the guy did for his daughter on here but maybe change it up suspension and frame wise. We have access to a bounty of 2x3x11ga steel tubing.

The debate amongst us is independent suspension or solid axle. We want to be small enough to legally ride on the same trails utvs can ride on so roughly 110'' long.

I have been a welder most of my life and in my past life I was certified mechanic and I am a good reverse fabricator.

We need pictures, best small axles, independent suspensions, best ways to jack shaft and overall cheapest way to build one with a price point double what we put into the materials. We want easy to source parts that are new or can be rebuilt to new cheaply.
First build will be out of junkyard parts that we refurbish. With the rectangle tubing as the frame, simple frame component assembly (assembly Line??)

We have ballparked 7500 for materials and 15k for sale after assembly powdercoating and testing : )
SVVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 04:06 PM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 412090
What are the dimensions of a 1.6l honda engine/transaxle? Anyone know. I cant find any concrete evidence short of actually measuring one myself which I dont have right. I just need oversize measurements so I can do a mock up of my frame.
Sponsored Links
Old 01-14-2014, 08:07 AM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 412090