Ok 16v gas in oil??? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Suzuki
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2012, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72167
Location: Northen California
Posts: 58
Ok 16v gas in oil???

Ok well pulled my dipstick smells like bad gas, drained the oil, seems very thin, pulled the oil filter, and alot of oil came out like it was under pressure, dumped the oil out of the filter, and it feels like the oil filter is full of oil, but no more comes out it's real heavy, and my oil is really dirty, which is odd for a rebuilt motor, with about 45 minutes of idle time on it? I'm out of ideas
hotrodd64 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 10:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
levi_456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 110071
Location: eugene OR
Posts: 253
did someone get carried away with the assembly lube? id change the oil and run it again. did the oil level go up on the dipstick? cut the filter up and see what it has in it. did it run well on all cylinders if not check compression.

maybe you could try to light some of the oil and see if it goes up like it has gas mixed in it.
levi_456 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 04-13-2012, 10:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72167
Location: Northen California
Posts: 58
I always go crazy on assembly live, lol, and I have the oil drained, what I think I'm gonna try is with the drain plug out, I'm gonna turn the ignition on, let the fuel pump pressure the lines, and see if any gas/oil leaks out of the drain plug, and good idea I will cut the oil filter up, and try to light the oil up, man that was some dirty oil
hotrodd64 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 10:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72167
Location: Northen California
Posts: 58
oh, maybe thats why the oil is dirty? the gas washed the assembly lube off? well maybe but ya i would have had to gone super crazy with the lube. hmm
hotrodd64 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 04:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Member # 197138
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrodd64 View Post
which is odd for a rebuilt motor, with about 45 minutes of idle time on it?
There's your answer, the rings have not seated because all you have done is idle and I bet you probably revved it too, which is even worse. You need to put that engine under load to seat the rings if its not too late, with cheap oil.
GillesDeBouette is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 04:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Member # 101414
Location: Orygun
Posts: 424
we always varied the rpm for 20-30 mins then let it cool and then took it out for a good 20-30 min drive. then changed the oil filter,assembly lube plugs oil filters pretty quick. i disagree on the cheap oil thing. i've done it both ways and i have always gotten alot more mileage on a motor out of a good oil.cheap oil will get u out of a jam but thats about it. my O2
__________________
my build (might be done someday)

[url]http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1032176[/url]
WOODZUK is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 04:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72167
Location: Northen California
Posts: 58
Right after I had it running good enough I did put it in gear and move the samurai, then I've drivin it about 200 yards, and I've never had it over 2500 rpms
hotrodd64 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 04:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72167
Location: Northen California
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOODZUK View Post
we always varied the rpm for 20-30 mins then let it cool and then took it out for a good 20-30 min drive. then changed the oil filter,assembly lube plugs oil filters pretty quick. i disagree on the cheap oil thing. i've done it both ways and i have always gotten alot more mileage on a motor out of a good oil.cheap oil will get u out of a jam but thats about it. my O2
Is it typical for the oil to be really dirty
hotrodd64 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 04:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Member # 101414
Location: Orygun
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrodd64 View Post
Is it typical for the oil to be really dirty
yup, its a combination of assembly lube and carbon from the fuel,the rings probly havent seated in yet.
__________________
my build (might be done someday)

[url]http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1032176[/url]
WOODZUK is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 05:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72167
Location: Northen California
Posts: 58
Ok that's good because I was worried, so after I fire it back up, I need to drive it
hotrodd64 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 05:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Member # 101414
Location: Orygun
Posts: 424
yup not hard like u stole it but put it through some good work and keep varying the rpm's. u will need to change the oil and filter several times before u get all the assembly lube out.
__________________
my build (might be done someday)

[url]http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1032176[/url]

Last edited by WOODZUK; 04-13-2012 at 05:37 PM.
WOODZUK is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 06:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72167
Location: Northen California
Posts: 58
ok heres some pics finally, i figure im getting alot of good feedback, i can take some time to post some pics


got some work to do






ok heres the sidekick radiator, im sure its easy enough to fab some brackets to make it fit, but it sits so low it hits the mount for the steering stablizer/tow hook, can i hack that thing off? is there another way to mount a steering stabilizer?? thats where im stuck right now
hotrodd64 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 06:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72167
Location: Northen California
Posts: 58
heres a couple shots, the second shot is when i had it running and ran it 200 yards down the road



hotrodd64 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 07:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Member # 130902
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 224
Nice tin top you have, I had one just like it last year. It had the 1.3 with a/c.

The stabilizer on my red one was removed as I have hydro assist installed.
Dr_D is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 09:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Member # 156317
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 207
kenny i was just thinking. I think our spare tin top has an after market stabilizer in it. i think its mounts to the other frame rail if im not mistaken. or it could have been the soft top that had it not sure.
__________________
1988 TinTop
facebook.com/NORCALZUKS
Beans is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 10:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72167
Location: Northen California
Posts: 58
ok so i ran down to the parts store and got a new fan, a 14 inch, the 16 inch was a beast, but it is 4 inches deep, idk if that would fit between the rad, and the pulleys, the 14 was 3 5/8 hopefully it will be ok 1250 cfm, versus the 800 my old 12 inch had. Also fab'd up some rad mounts, hopefully i can get this thing to bolt in pretty easy, well see

[IMG][/IMG]

hotrodd64 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 10:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72167
Location: Northen California
Posts: 58
.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beans View Post
kenny i was just thinking. I think our spare tin top has an after market stabilizer in it. i think its mounts to the other frame rail if im not mistaken. or it could have been the soft top that had it not sure.
ya thanks for the compliment, and yes billy that other samurai did have a funky mount that ran to the fram rail now that i think of it, i should post a pic up and see what ppl think about it, i thought it looked pretty sketchy
hotrodd64 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-14-2012, 01:31 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Member # 156317
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 207
Yea I thought about it when I saw one on ebay earlier today looking for some parts for mine.
__________________
1988 TinTop
facebook.com/NORCALZUKS
Beans is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-14-2012, 07:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member # 72167
Location: Northen California
Posts: 58
ok im scratching the sidekick radiator, as my stock radiator was all gummed up, i put the new fuel pump and fuel filter on, my gas is really dirty, and theres rust flakes coming in the fuel filter, so im probably gonna have to drop the tank?? Well i checked the fuel pressure too, when the pumps on it reads almost 50 psi, and after a minute of sitting there it was steady holding 30 psi, so i dont think i have a fuel pressure leak anywhere. So still wondering how gas got in the oil, but its not through the injectors. unless they were sticking open and there not now.
hotrodd64 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply





Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.